2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 LTZ question

Hello out there,
2011 Chevy Duramax 2500 LTZ w/air bags & 16K Reese 5th wheel :
I am wondering how many out there are using 3/4 ton single rear wheel tow vehicles for this size coach. I tow a 2011 Road Warrior RW305 and have one HD Road King in the rear and usually keep the fresh water low but think I am close to the limit of this truck by all listed data on this Chevy. It tows well with the air bags I installed. It did not do so well without. But I sometimes think I should be using a 1 ton with dual rear wheels for this much trailer. The RW305 is about 12K empty. I have been using this setup for 5 years now without a problem.
Thank you
Leigh

CDN

B and B
Hello,

The truck likely is overloaded with dry weight and no toys. I would weight everything and compare your pin weight against the cargo capacity. The hitch weight on the specs is 2490 lbs . Air bags do not add cargo capacity just load leveling.

kowAlski631

Before we bought our truck or trailer, my husband had long conversations with engineers at the factory (didn't hurt that he's a physicist). They told us - and the specs verified - the load we could pull without issue. We could have been at the outside limits when we were full-time, but we haven't had an issue. Our advice is to get your specific tow specs (you can find them online) and weigh your trailer with everything you tow (even once in a blue moon) so you know for sure. We're happy with our set up and have been for almost 6 years now.