Mallard M185 quality?

I’m new to owning a travel trailer. My wife and I want something that is big enough for us to relax in and store all of our kayaking, rafting, and surfing gear. The Mallard M185 looks perfect with that rear bunk area and extra door for storage. I don’t know a **** thing about RVs or where to look for reviews but some of the reviews I could find were a little less than positive regarding quality and customer service. Just wanted to get opinions on those two things from real owners.

Thank you!

danemayer

Hi chris11427,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum.

Life would be a lot easier if there were a place to go where you could go to find the number of trailers built, by model #, and how many warranty claims there were. Then you could empirically evaluate quality. But, there's no such place. So we look online and find anecdotal information.

Online anecdotal posts can produce a picture that's heavily weighted toward problems, because people who have no problems usually don't bother posting. They just enjoy their trailers.

The big differences come down to how the manufacturer provides warranty coverage, and customer support, and the dealer with whom you choose to do business.

Heartland is more flexible than most manufacturers in that with prior approval, you can use independent repair shops, or mobile servicers rather than be tied down to the selling dealer to get service. Many RV dealers have very poor turnaround time on repairs. Having other choices can make a huge difference to you. In some cases, with simple repairs that you can do yourself, Heartland often will ship you the parts, rather than force you to haul your trailer to the selling dealer and wait, and wait.

When it comes to choosing dealers, it can be difficult to assess dealer quality unless you get opinions from others using that dealership, before you buy.