Compressor wire burning in two

We have a 2014 Big Country with a front and rear Dometic unit. Both were replaced in 2016. The rear one was again replaced by Lazy Days in Tucson (under warranty) in 2017. Now the front unit has stopped working. Inspection revealed that the blue wire going to the compressor is burned in half. I temporarily patched it by splicing them together, but again it burned through. Contacted Dometic who told me to take it to one of their dealers. Would replacing the wiring harness solve the problem? I can order one on line. Any ideas what might be causing the burn through? Thanks for all for reading and responding.

GregP

I'm no electrician, but it sounds as if you might have an unfused line that is shorting out. Replacing the wire isn't fixing it, you will need to locate the short if there and repair/replace.

wdk450

According to page 12 of this manual from the Heartland Forum Library, the Blue wire is the main power wire going into the compressor.
http://manuals.heartlandowners.org/...LCD with separate control box_3314378.000.pdf

It first goes through the overtemperature switch (normally closed) on top of the compressor. I would say you have a shorted compressor, but am at a loss as to why your circuit breaker did not trip, unless the blue wire conductor could not carry the current. Maybe the breaker should be replaced once the AC is fixed. The breaker is supposed to be an air conditioning type, 20 amps. The normal running current of a good 15K BTU Dometic air conditioner is a little below 13 amps.

pegmikef

According to page 12 of this manual from the Heartland Forum Library, the Blue wire is the main power wire going into the compressor.
http://manuals.heartlandowners.org/...LCD with separate control box_3314378.000.pdf