Big horn vs landmark

Djf125

I have been researching units to live out of full time now for awhile and have narrowed it down to 2 units that fit my families needs and they are either the bighorn 3950fl or the landmark laffayette a bit of background i am a master finish carpenter and master wood finisher for a living and craftsmanships important to me and between the 2 units in a bighorn with several optional upgrades compared to the laffayette they are nearly identical in craftsmanship overall other than a few minor things i could do in a day like extra trimming around the windows and door areas and swapping the hollow door panels out on the bighorn for solid wood paneled doors and upgrade plumbing and light fixtures and the bighorn 3950fl fits our needs layout wise better than the laffayette most important options to us are modest interior upgrades on the bighorn heat pumps on the a/c units to save on lp useage slide awnings over the slides and thats about it as far as options for the bighorn we would purchase which along with some material to dress up the windows and door areas and other areas i was wanting to improve replacement doors and the extra options along with double pane windows on the bighorn i would not be out even $7000 extra vs the laffayette costing $25K-$30K extra is there anything other than i specified that makes the laffayette that much better than the bighorn 3950fl optioned out and improved by a master finish carpenter to match the laffayette and then some possibly because even if i added the optional 3rd ac unit to the bighorn i would still be upwards of $20K less than the laffayette is their anything different in the frame walls or insulation or floor design or how they tow that makes one better than the other or is it primarily strictly cosmetic?

danemayer

Hi djf,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum.

A few comments:

- Bighorn and Landmark are built on the same line, by the same people.