Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Pulling my first camper and recognizing problems with "sway"

1. Print this Post   #1

Pulling my first camper and recognizing problems with "sway"

hello,
    I am new to campers. I have a RE275. from what I understand now, this means the interior, or perhaps just the box outside is 27.5 feet and the Tung and bumper add on to be about 30 feet.
    it weighs around 7600 pounds plus some for cargo, which is not much right now other than the water load of the fresh tank.

I did the usual checks, air pressure at 65,
    hitch is a Reese 2000 pound distribution, with what appears to be set up properly by Gander and is quite tight to pull up the buckles even with the camper jack down lifting the truck a few inches beyond level such the camper and truck appear level when the jack is up. I reviewed the setup videos so I don't think the hitch is wrong.
    I also have one REESE friction bar, which I have tried moderately tight, and then very tight it even groans some in turns. still no real change.
    I have no cargo so that is not a problem with improper loading. at most I have 100 pounds of stuff spread all around the trailer, and it did the same totally empty - no water or any cargo.

The pickup is a 2019 F150 5.0 with a towing package from the factory.

I don't think it is the pickup per se, since I borrowed a pickup of a different brand it the same issues are present. maybe the truck is too small, but the guys at Gander thought it could handle it.

At any rate, here is what I "feel"

When I travel at 40mph, it runs smooth. I have no issues accelerating plenty fast, and stopping with the electric brake controller in use seems to be adequate. more on that later.