Deteriorating Water Flow- Exhausted Troubleshooting

BigHorns

I have been fighting the proverbial water flow problem for several months and am finally crying uncle. I do understand the difference in issues of pressure vs. flow rate.

My pressure regulator at the spigot (the good Valterra unit with gauge- not the cheap one) will read over 80 PSI currently before I dial it back to around 50-55. I have another gauge at the connection in the UDC which typically reads 43 PSI (after a simple inline filter). These readings with a closed system, of course.

Turn a faucet on- anywhere, or open the toilet valve, and I get a rush of good pressure/flow for a couple seconds and within, maybe, 10 seconds, I've got a tiny stream.

From the spigot I have: spigot -> Valterra regulator/gauge -> 4-way brass splitter -> inline filter -> hose to UDC. All the 4-way connections are closed except the one in use here. Some example flow rates from testing filling a half gallon bottle:

• 45 secs to fill the bottle from the kitchen sink faucet
  • 20 secs to fill the bottle straight from the hose otherwise connected to the Andersen Valve in the UDC.
  • 8 secs to fill the bottle through the same hose but with the inline filter removed.
  • 42 secs to fill the bottle from the kitchen sink faucet with the inline filter removed.

I also pulled the Andersen Valve out and filled the bottle directly from its city water port- it overflowed it in nothing flat.

Every indication is that there is an obstruction in my in-house system. But if there was, pressure should remain higher between the spigot and UDC gauges while water is flowing but it does not. Also implied would be a leak in the system. I'm dry as a bone inside, in the belly (I've pulled access panels), and on the ground. And with a leak, system pressure would not return as soon as you close an open valve.

Other notables:
  • This has been an issue in multiple parks with, ironically, unusually high water pressure,