Interior LED lighting?

zztop

I am wondering if any of you have changed your interior lighting to LEDs and where is the best place to buy them? How do you like them?

KENNY COCHRAN

MCNEESE STATE COWBOYS #1
I just changed 2 of the kitchen dual light fixtures out to dual 15watt fluorescent fixtures ($25.00 each on ebay). Puts out a lot more light. Have not looked at the led fixtures.

skyguy

zztop - I bought 4 LED's here:
http://www.superbrightleds.com/led_prods.htm

Fair warning: THEY AIN"T CHEAP!!

I bought two whites, and two reds, $70 about.
http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-bin/store/commerce.cgi?product=OTHER#1156-PCB-W24
I plan to try them out in our 3670 this weekend, and hopefully get some sort of "scientific" analysis by measuring the brightness difference with the light meter in my camera.

I'm an amateur astronomer, and the red doesn't affect our eyes as much as other colors (ruining night vision).

I'll post more info as soon as I test these. I was going to respond sooner, but your post vanished for some reason.... at least for me.:eek:

KENNY COCHRAN

MCNEESE STATE COWBOYS #1
Kenny, do those lights work on 12V?

YES THEY WORK ON 12 VOLTS. SEE EBAY Item number: 3501645457, $25.00 EACH FOR A 2 BULB FIXTURE. THE BALLAST IS 12 VOLTS, THE BULBS ARE COMMON 120 VOLT BULBS YOU CAN BUY ANYWHERE. RANDPCARRIAGES SELLS THEM ON EBAY. VERY EASY CHANGE OUT WITH ONLY 2 WIRE NUTS TO UNDO AND PUT BACK.

zztop

Wow! you guys really came through with lots to consider. Keep it coming!
Skyguy, I will be interested to hear what you come up with.

Thanks!

crazybanshee

I changed all our lights to flourescent. I think they are brighter than leds. Don't use much power either.
Doug

zztop

Does anyone know the comparison of fluoresant vs. LED in light output and power used? I want light but I also want to not run down the battery.

sailorand

Past British Columbia Chapter Leader