17 Degrees Outside: 97 inside. No water.

Good morning,
I'm new to this and am becoming more and more frustrated with our new camper.(2016 Sundance DLT 281DB) I left my taps dripping last night, and the thermostat on about 75. The furnace stayed on, and the temperature inside rose. I hooked up some portable heaters this morning after taking loose all the paneling leading to the uninsulated areas under the sink. I have cold water in the bathroom sink now. The poor placement of the thermostat, next to the bathroom, quickly heated up due to the bathroom temperature rising, and the furnace shut off.

I've got the furnace running now. I'm not sure that small duct is enough to heat the belly. Does the duct just lay under the floor?

I mi realize nothing is going to get resolve here and now, but what can I do to prevent this from happening? I planned on using the new camper year-round. Heck, it even wears a badge of honor by the door stating, "Extended Season." I don't see any small print on the badge leading me to believe it is not up to the task, but the lack of water tells me otherwise.

Thank you for the assistance.

danemayer

Hi Sundance,

"Extended Season" is obviously a vague marketing term. Even interpreting that to mean "Ready for Winter" begs the question of where and how cold. Winter in South Florida and winter in the Colorado mountains are quite different.

We're in Breckenridge, CO for ski season in our Landmark. Even though Landmarks have quite a bit more insulation than a Sundance, we have had to do a number of modifications to keep the water running here. We've got tank heating pads to protect the holding tanks, and I've added heat tape and insulation to all water lines. We use a heated water hose, and I hang a drop light in the UDC to protect the water connections. There's a reflector with infrared 100W bulb hanging over the water pump.