2017 Pioneer leak in Cab over front Bed - HELP??

Ziggy49

New to me 2017 Pioneer RG22 Toy Hauler.

Discovered by happy accident that water is coming in during rain in the front seam of the cabinet over the front bed.

Poor construction is evident all over this thing, in this area there are staples that missed their target. Found this in other places as well.

Would like to post a picture, but can't see how to do so, rushing around, borrowed a ladder, not sure how to proceed.

I'm totally new to this type of trailer so:

Can I walk on the roof?

What is the roof made of?

What is the best way to find and repair the leak??

Any and all help vastly appreciated!!!

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I just looked at a Pioneer brochure and it states a fully walkable roof. Didn't state the roofing material but I'm gonna guess EPDM rubber.
If your used rig has not been maintained then you can expect some leaks or water damage. It's recommended by Heartland to check often.
If your leak is at a seam where the siding material meets the rubber you can got one of two ways. You can used self leveling caulk or apply Eternabond tape. What ever you decide just make sure that the surface is clean and dry.

Peace
Dave

wdk450

If you can't locate on the roof where the water is coming in you might want to coat the entire roof area with Henrys Tropi-Cool roof coating. Prep is minimal, only 1 coat is needed, and it dries to rainproof in only 15 minutes. It is in stock at most Home Depot stores.

Ziggy49