5500 Generator. Error codes

Mullins

I have a '15 Cyclone with a 5500 Onan, which exhausts out the driver side (factory installed). It has only 14.5 hours. We went dry camping for the first time this past weekend, turned the genset on and it ran for about 5 minutes then shut down. Looking at the codes, 3 (service Code) then 5-8(58) which is "Exhaust Gas Temperature Shutdown" I looked thru some of the post regarding the 5500 and found nothing that spoke about this. The senerio is that I live at 4500' level and I have run the genset at this level and at 3300' No problems, My camping trip took me to ~5800' to Lake Tahoe. I did set the altitude switch to 5000' but I got the same result. When I got back to ~4500' I ran the generator, same result, same error codes. Anyone out there ever experience this before?:(:confused:. P.S. Since this is my first time dry camping, I am in the habit of running generator while at home at least once a month for about 15 to 20 minutes just to keep the juices flowing.. hence the low hrs..
Thanks

carl.swoyer

Elevation can affect the genset but is the blower running on the genset?

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Lynn1130

I have run the generator (same unit) at altitudes from 1400 to 9000 and not had altitude issues. Does the gas have a stabilizer in it? Other than that I am stumped also but you should still be under warranty.

avvidclif

The Onan 5500 has a 3 year warranty, starting the day you purchased the RV. I would avoid the RV places and look for an authorized Onan service center. The RV dealer wanted 3 weeks to get to it, the service center took 2 days to fix it. I picked it up on the 3rd day after I dropped it off. And he ran it for 6.5 hours to verify the intermittent was fixed.

Mullins

Sorry, but I have looked at the installation manual and operations manual, the word blower does not exist in either, perhaps you have a different year than mine that required a blower..

- - - Updated - - -