F450 Owners

Dave_Jari

To those of you who own and tow with an F450, could you please share your personal pros and cons. Towing, breaking, if wide track front axle is beneficial. I appreciate your input.

Fox

MODS: if this violates any policies feel free to delete it.

My question is what are you comparing the F450 against?

For a larger audience response I recommend you go on over to a Ford forum -specifically their towing forum, and ask the users there.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum287/

From my experience their heavy towing owners are quite happy with the F450 and its capabilities (over the F350 dually).

LBR

To those of you who own and tow with an F450, could you please share your personal pros and cons. Towing, breaking, if wide track front axle is beneficial. I appreciate your input.

Our F-450 experience has been 100% positive with absolutely nothing breaking.

Lou_and_Bette

Dave, I have been towing with a F450 for 10 years. First with a 2008, bought used and had an issue with the 6.4 engine it came with. Then bought 2013 with the 6.7 engine and have been relatively problem free. My truck has the long bed and the wider front axel which have allowed me to make some pretty radical turning maneuvers without any problems. I like the power, load capacity, and braking that comes with this beast. The newer trucks, in the 350 range, have all the power, load capacity, and braking as my older 450, but without the wider front axel so turning radius is decreased somewhat. I think that I could adjust to this reduced turning radius, as have many other Heartlanders who tow with this model. The down side of the 450 class trucks that I have personally run into where, all stemming from this size, and larger trucks, being classified as "commercial"; not every lending agency will finance this class truck, and not every insurance agency will write a policy for this class truck. I hope this helps you.

Dave_Jari