Furnace Quit - HELP!

CindyB

Yesterday, while camping on the Oregon Coast, the furnace in my '12 Big Country suddenly quit on the third day. It has been acting perfectly on every trip for two and a half years. Now it stopped. The fan comes on for about 30-60 seconds, then goes off without igniting the furnace. I tried shutting off the gas at the tank and purging the unit as directed in the user's manual, but the fan would not stay on long enough for the purge. Tried changing propane tanks on the theory that pressure wasn't adequate. That didn't work. There's plenty of gas getting to the cook stove, so air in the line is ruled out (I think).

Before I spend a bunch of my Alaska money going to the repair shop, I'm hoping some of you have a solution, hopefully a simple one. Is it the thermostat? I'm no mechanic by any stretch, but I can fix simple things with clear direction. A friend of mine shared that their gas furnace won't work if it gets wet somehow. Never heard of that one and it would have to squirt rain sideways to get in this furnace . . . . . well, this IS Oregon and it DID rain like a son of a gun for two days over there.

Thanks all - Cindy

danemayer

Hi CindyB,

If the blower starts, the thermostat is working. The relay between the thermostat and furnace is also working. The furnace circuit board is working at least in part.

When the blower starts, it has to get up to a certain speed to close the sail switch. That signals the furnace board that it's ok to open the gas valve and create a spark to try to light the propane.

If you stand outside while the blower starts (someone else operating the thermostat), you can probably hear the gas valve open and maybe the ignition spark. If that doesn't happen, you may have a bad sail switch or a bad control board.

It's possible to replace them yourself, but you might do better to get a mobile tech to look at it.

Oregon_Camper

Are you on shore power or battery power?