GFCI circuit.

Curt_Hinson

After at least 5 times in the repair shop, my GFCI plug built into the bottom of my cabinets over the kitchen sink works if I remove my refrigerator and run it separately with an outside cord. Long story short, the repair shops all said that the circuit was fixed and everything operational. One shop actually put two GFCI plugs under the cabinets. I have determined that the circuit is a 15 amp circuit wired into a GFCI plug, then over to another wall plug under the same set of cabinets. From there I have no knowledge where it goes before it is wired into my dishwasher and refrigerator. If I plug the refrigerator back into it's original plug, the GFCI plug pops. I unplug the refrigerator and reset the GFCI, both plugs are operational as well as my dishwasher. It will still kick one or several days, but will allow a reset at any time after it pops.

Long story short. Shortly after I bought the unit, my wife moved the toaster over to the corner of the counter and plugged it into the plug nearest under the cabinets. That should have been a reasonable action because you can cook toast while cooking breakfast. We eventually had to move the toaster over to a spot on the short table (not expanded). Evidently, the refridgerator came on one time while cooking toast and it fried the plug behind the dishwasher and refrigerator. There is another 15 Amp Circuit breaker right beside the active one which is unused.

I am a pretty good mechanic, but pulling the dishwasher which probably also requires the gas stove burners to be removed has me puzzled. I am pretty sure that a plug (or plugs) will have to be replaced especially since all plugs in a camper are those dumb push a wire through the prongs.