hauling vehicle for 2014 Elkridge E29 5th wheel

Markus666

I'm looking at purchasing a new tow vehicle and I'm thinking of buying 2014 Ram 2500 Cummins TD Crew Cab longbed. The E29 has a GVWR of 11,500lbs. The tow limit for the 2500 is 17,320.

My question relates to Cargo Capacity. The max payload of the truck is about 2500lbs, but the Ram website notes that this includes cargo and trailer tongue weight, which I'm assuming for 5th wheels, represents the weight of the RV supported by the pin. Does anyone know what this number would be for my RV? If it were 15% of the GVWR, I'd be at 1725 lbs, leaving me only 775 lbs for passengers and other cargo. Am I looking at this the right way? Do I have to step up to a Ram 3500 where the max payload is over 4,000 lbs.

Appreciate any help. I'm new to RVing and trying to do things right.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Heartlandrvs web site lists the pin weight of that trailer as 2,075 dry.
That number will be higher when you load up.
As long as you are buying a new truck, I would go with the 3500.

Peace
Dave

ncrzrbk

You can go up to the 3500 SRW and have around 4400lbs of payload. That is what I just did. Not mention difference in the ride of the two trucks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

'Lil Guy'