New Owner Training Programs??

weekender01

This is just an observation/question so if this has been discussed before I apologize, but could not find it in the forum covering this topic exactly.

It seems with the number of new RV owners that are joining the camping boom there would be a need for more in depth “training” or “instruction” on RV ownership and how things work. While I know that most good dealers do PDI’s/Walkthroughs with customers I would say the majority of people that are new owners come away with just enough knowledge to be dangerous on what to do with their new purchase once they pull off the lot. Some have never towed before, some are upgrading to say a Fifth wheel or Class A where systems may be different and I myself have learned to be self-taught on many aspects of owning an RV. Thank goodness for this forum and for You Tube or I would have not been able to fix, repair, and operate some of the items in our Torque 321. I still struggle backing a 5[SUP]th[/SUP]wheel vs. my old travel trailer.

With that said is there a need in the market for a company to provide new RV owner training for those interested in learning more about RV ownership, towing, backing, system operations, general repair (not talking full blown service), annual maintenance checks, winterization, black flush systems, water heater operations, etc.? Would people be willing to spend a day or two attending training like this? Would they be willing to pay a reasonable (that is subjective) price for training?

I would be interested in your thoughts on this and I appreciate any and all responses.

Garypowell

I recall 20 years ago when I got my first RV (42' Travel Supreme) there were a few seminars that I could have attended....but they seem to have disappeared with the rise of the internet and you tube.

We started cold turkey but back then I went to RV parks before we bought and simply stopped people and talked to them.