Replacement Light/Bulb for Stove Vent Hood

Jim-n-Leslie

I am planning on replacing the poor excuse for a vent hood light over the stove with an LED light. Same 12v, LOTS more output! Problem is, I have to sort out which of two ways I will go. I can cut the wires and insert a new fixture under the translucent cover (http://www.amazon.com/Bright-LED-White-Color-Cabin/dp/B0026BRGK8) of I can find a replacement for the existing bulb that requires a blade/wedge-base. My preference is the latter, since I want to minimize cutting and hacking on the trailer. Not being a low-voltage electrician, I have found a couple of sites with blade-base LED bulbs for purchase (http://www.ledlight.com/SearchResult.aspx?KeyWords=blade base), but am unfamiliar with the base configuration for the bulb. E27 looks like a small screw-in, so that can't be right. Neither does a GX4.0 base or a GX5.3. A T-10 wedge base looks close (http://www.ledlight.com/t10-wedge-5-ultra-bright-smt-led-light.aspx), but the wires are bent front and back, not on the same side, and the photos for a T-10 look like the wires are on the same side. After I return home from camping I will take the bulb over to Lowe's or Home Depot and use their 'Bulb Bases for Dummies' chart, but if anyone in the interim has any ideas on the type of base or good sites to check out, I would greatly appreciate their advice. :D
Thanks!
Jim :cool:

wdk450

Jim:

My wife complained about the poor range lighting, so I got one of the 30 watt flourescent fixtures, fabricated an aluminum strap from side-to-side inside the hood at the right distance for the light mounting screws, removed the existing halogen fixture, and installed the flourescent. I also installed a smaller flourescent fixture in place of the adjacent over counter fixture. My cook is again happy!

Jim-n-Leslie