Sanitizing Fresh Water Tank & System

Jeff57

As you can tell I am a newbie on this forum, so I will apologize in advance if I am doing something incorrectly. As I have read the Andersen valve has 3 positions, the Tank Fill which fills the fresh water tank, City Fixtures/Dry Camping which is used for the fresh wnater tank in conjunction with the on board pump and the city water hook-up. Finally is the Winterize and Sanitize which is a little.confusing. From what I can tell is that this position you run a short hose from a bucket with the sanitize or winterize solution and pump it into the plumbing of the RV. I am wanting to sanitize the camper, 2017 Bighorn 3270RS. Okay I mix the proper solution, 1/2 cup bleach per 15 gal water, turn on the pump open valves and run till bleach is smelled, that takes care of the plumbing now finally to my concern, how do I get 2 cups of bleach into the tank when filled? It is my understanding that the sanitize valve position doe not go into the fresh water tank.

Help would be appreciated, thank you.

NYSUPstater

Well, I'll chime in and others may too. I just use the tank fill for on board tank after putting 1c of reg Clorox non perfume scented bleach down the RV's water hose(s) and then continue to fill tank til full. Then as you mentioned, turn on pump and run water into the hot water tank (fill up) from on board tank and then thru rest of the outlets incl outside shower till ya smell bleach. Once done at each outlet, let sit 24 hours. Drain the water heater and on board tank, then re-fill w/ fresh water (can use a water filter) the on board tank and use that water to fill water heater and repeat running water thru all outlets till you don't smell bleach. Let this all sit 24 hrs, drain on board tank and all done. Can leave the water in water heater. Never have used the Winterize/Sanitize position

oldelmer1