Slide topper sagging

Retsfer

I know (I think) you shouldn't leave the slides out in an extremely heavy rain, but if they have developed a sag how can you adjust them to remove sag? I am new to RVing and this site. Thanks

danemayer

Hi Retsfer,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum.

There's no easy adjustment. To increase tension, the topper fabric needs to be unwound, removed from the roller, the roller rewound with an extra turn, and the fabric reinstalled. This is a 2 person job requiring 2 ladders. Or a trip to a service location.

Another method involves releasing the tension and removing the mounting brackets, but I'm not a fan of that procedure.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Another method for increasing tension on the awning is to pin the roller to the spring shaft. Start with the slide extended out. Each side of the roller has a slot and if you look by using a screwdriver to turn the roller a bit you will see a hole through the shaft. You will then need to put a 3" cotter through that hole and the slots in the roller on both ends of the roller.
That locks the spring tension.
You can then bring the slide in a bit to get a good amount of slack in the awning material. Remove the Torrxs screw on the arms that hold the roller arm to the hex shaft. Yours may be a bit different depending on manufacturer.
Slide the roller one direction then the other till it is off the hex shaft.
Then give it one wind and put it back on the shaft then release tension slowly and carefully.
But be warned, slide toppers will sag when then get full of water. It's just the nature of the beast.
And, if you get too much tension the slide may not fully extend on the top.
These slide toppers come with the spring preloaded for the correct tension.
So, after saying all that, your awning toppers sound normal and it may be best to leave it alone.
When mine get full I just raise the front of the camper as high as I can get it and the water runs off.

Peace
Dave

MTPockets