Trip Report #2 Lake Claiborne SP, LA

WalkTheLine

Since our planned trip to the Florida panhandle was cancelled the wife, kids, and I decided to go northwest and visit Lake Claiborne State Park north of Ruston,LA. Since I am a Mississippi State grad and my wife is a Tech grad, we also took the opportunity to go to the game in Ruston.We put the bikes in the rear popout and loaded up with food and drinks and hit the road.
We drove up I-55 and over to I-20 and some sections of the road were washboardrough forcing us to slow down but we still managed to lose the brakelight coveroff the rear of the Lynx.When we arrived, I took a closer look and noted that the light covers are snap on’s, they’re not screwed in. Talk about cost cutting….Anyways, it was a pretty drive with light traffic and plenty of easily accessible gas stations.

I learned that while my F-250 can easily pull the trailer, it guzzles gas! We got 7.7 MPG traveling around 64 mph. Wishing I had a diesel now. The other thing—it was hilly and the cruisecontrol just can’t handle the hills with the load. I pull my heavy flatbed with 2-3000 lb loadson it with no problem but I guess the extra weight and the wind resistancereally makes a difference.The CC would throw on the engine brake then at the bottom of the hill the revs weren’t there and gearing too high to handle the uphill part so I just quit using it.