Wiring size for compressor 5hp motor.

jimtoo

Hi electrical know how folks.

My SIL is has purchased an air compressor and I need help on wiring size. It is 230V, 5 HP motor, SLA 21.5 SF 1.5 SFA 24.4, is on tag on motor. I have not seen it yet, but was wondering what size wire should be used to run about 65' from breaker box to compressor? What size breakers are needed?

He was told 10/3 wg Romex would be enough, but I was just wanting to check with some of the good guys we have here on the forum.

Thanks
Jim M

pegmikef

I was told to use and used 6 gauge for my boatlift (greater distance, but 65 feet is still a pretty good distance for line loss). One of the smart guys will calculate the required amperage from the horse power and come up with the breaker size.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
First off, I am not an electrician. I had to get real familiar with wiring when I wired up my attached garage for my woodworking tools. The "professionals" wouldn't bother to give me an estimate (tried four of them), so I pulled a permit and did it myself. Passed the state electrical inspection, too.

From what I can find in my references, the #10 wire should be OK for a 65 foot run if the voltage is 230. If it were a 120V line, then the distance would be a problem. It looks like the SLA 21.5 is the service load amperage the motor will run at. The start up amperage will spike above that (the SFA 24.4?). If that is correct, a 30A breaker should suffice.

Burying the line may require it be in a conduit unless it's rated as "UF - Underground Feeder."

Best advice is to contact the local electrical inspector for guidance, if there is one in the community. Fees for a permit are nominal.

jimtoo

He is not going outside or bury the wiring. It will take about 65' from box to compressor location, up the wall, through the attic and down the wall to compressor. I just don't want to have a chance of wiring overheating.

Thanks
Jim M

cookie

Administrator
Staff member