Your help needed - TV to BH clearance

RollingHome

Folks I could use your help. I am new to pulling a 5th wheel. I traded my 2500HD with pull-rite slide hitch in for a 3500HD dually to give me more of a safety cushion. Since the pull-rite hitch was brand new I had it installed into the 3500HD. I am pulling a 3670RL with Trailair kingpin box. The 3500HD is closer to the trailer then the 2500HD. In fact, when I lower the tailgate it is only 1/2" away from the BH. This seems too close to make turns. I realize the pull-rite hitch will auto slide back about 7"... but, I also have rock tamer mud-flaps which hang out past the rear bumper too. In addition, the kingpin centerline seems to be slightly behind the rear axle - I thought it's supposed to be slightly in front of the axle. I will make test turns with my friend and wife watching... I just would appreciate your input before. When you guys lower your tail-gates how far are they from the BH in inches ? I guess the more appropiate questions is, how many inches between the TV bumper and BH ? Any feedback will be appreciated. In advance, thanks.

caissiel

Mine is to close to hook up the trailer with the tailgate open. I almost hit the door on the first try. Your GM has a deeper box then my Ford so the tailgate will be longer past the bumper. I had to remove the Pin Box Cover so I could freely hookup with my V notched tailgate. I to have the long wheelbase truck with my 5th wheel pin about 2 inches in front of the axle

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
Tom, I just traded up to a 2500 long bed and have the same issue. My pin is now about 2-3" farther forward than on my 2500 short bed. Tailgate is closer to the front of the Horn. It does make the turn without hitting. I installed it per Huskys instructions. I like the fact that I am taking some of the pin weight and putting it on the front axle. Bob

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member