Towing question Part 2

alicia

My original question was:
This is my first time using this forum. I emailed Heartland this question and they referred me back to GMC. Maybe some other owners can give me feedback. We are planning on purchasing a Bighorn 3055RL. My question is - will we have any problem towing that much weight with our 2006 GMC 3/4 ton diesel with an Allison trans.
The responses I got back were very positive - Thanks to all who answered.

Part 2 of my question - can we go bigger? How much bigger? If we do what problems will we encounter? I appreciate all the technical info I have received -passed it on to my husband. As for me - I am a middle-aged BLONDE - keep it simple!:) Thanks again to all those who answer- Alicia

SmokeyBare

Hello Alicia,

We have a 3007 - 3400 RL Bighorn and we tow it with a 2002 - 2500HD Chevy Duramax Diesel.

We're at the rally, having just gotten weighed when we arrived. Because of two tire upgrades I have made... we are well inside the ranges for the tires we now have on our Bighorn. I feel I am safe... towing of this RV. I say this... yet I also know I am heavy on the King Pin weight... I have several very heavy items in the front basement of the RV... which puts a heavier load onto the Truck. To my suspension I've added Timbrins to aid the additional weight on the trucks suspension system.

When I look at the 2009 Specifications :

3055 -34 foot 4 inches long - GVWR - #14,000 - Hitch weight - #1,995

3400 -36 foot 9 inches Long - GVWR - #14,600 - Hitch Weight - #2,180

You've not said how your going to be using your RV... be it weekend use... vacation use... extended stay use... Winter Snow Bird use... or Full Time use.

Each use tends to put more weight into the RV... more personal stuff equals more weight... yes even those Polo Shirts all add up to the weight put into the RV.

That weight needs to be considered when deciding what you can safely tow behind the truck. What can safely be stopped when towing....

slmayor