Another 6.0 bites the dust!

BHEWITTJR

For starters I have a 2006 F-250 with a 6.0 and about 58,000 miles on it. Since I'm a diesel mechanic I'm very thorough with maintence since I know all the problems with this engine, but untill now no major problems with it. We were driving home from a great week of camping and thought the only worries we had was going to work on Monday. Truck was running great like it always has and then all of a sudden a bang, a miss, some smoke, and no power. Of corse this had to happen while towing the BH. Lucky for me I was only about 50 miles from home, so I called a friend to come and take the BH home for me, and then had the truck towed to the Ford dealer that does all of the warranty work for me. 2 days later they called and said it was a bad injector and I would have the truck back the next day. The next day came and went and no truck. The next moring the dealer calls and says it still has a dead cylinder with no compression and they have to pull the head to find out why. The next call from them was to tell me that they found a broken exhaust valve and it needs 1 head and a block, but we all have to wait for the area Ford rep to come and look at it and verify what happened for it to be covered under thier warranty. So here I sit truckless waiting for Ford. ( updates to follow )

TXBobcat

Fulltime
You must understand, I have a 2006 F250 6.0 with 123,000 miles on it. I don't want to hear about these things. :cool:

I have had to do some repairs under warranty and some not under warranty. A/C system, fuel pump, water pump and thermostat were not under warranty, but the FICM and a couple of injectors were under warranty. There is a place called Powerstroke Magic in Houston that I am going to have an EGR Block installed. I have been having the fan come on quite often and know one knows what is causing it. I read an article that the golden (color) antifreeze cause the oil and egr coolers to plug up.

BC

ricatic