Changing to a Litime 12 v 100ah battery

vincemike

Hello , I’m new to rv camping , I purchased a MGP 185 trailer,,I want to install a Litime 12.8 volt ion lithium battery.I was told I don’t need to change converter . Dose any don’t this ?

david-steph2018

It depends on the converter that is installed. Some converters will be able to be switched for lithium batteries from AGM or flooded cell. You need to find out which converter you have installed in the rig.

Josh752

Switching to a LiFePO4 (Lithium Iron Phosphate) battery like the Litime 12V 100Ah offers significant improvements over traditional lead-acid batteries in RVs and other applications. Here's what you need to know about making the switch:
Benefits of LiFePO4 Batteries

Long Life: LiFePO4 batteries typically last much longer than lead-acid batteries, often providing over 2000 charge cycles compared to 300-500 charge cycles for lead-acid batteries.

Lightweight: Significantly lighter than lead-acid batteries, an advantage for RVs where weight is an important consideration.

High Efficiency: Higher energy density and efficiency mean you get more usable power from a LiFePO4 battery than a lead-acid battery of the same size.

Faster charging: LiFePO4 batteries can charge faster and accept higher charging currents, making them beneficial for use in RVs where fast charging makes sense.

Superior Performance: Provides superior performance over a wider temperature range and has a lower self-discharge rate.

Replacement Considerations

Battery Management System (BMS): LiFePO4 batteries typically have a built-in BMS to protect against overcharging, over-discharging, and overheating. Make sure the battery you select has a good BMS.

Charging System: Make sure your existing charging system is compatible with LiFePO4 batteries. You may need to adjust or replace your charger to fit the charging profile required for LiFePO4.