getting a new TV, what are others towing with

Nbomar

I was well over my legal weight. Empty with just me in the truck I was 31000 gcvw

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

KNPMCM

I have been pulling 5er's for the past 10 years and have travelled far and wide. IMHO there is only one way to stay safe when pulling a 5er over 14000 lbs. GO DUALLY. The biggest difference besides load capacity is how the truck and trailer behalf together. A SRW wheel width is approx 86" and a 5er is 96". The difference in width becomes a major factor if you are towing on highways that are grooved from the big trucks. The truck and trailer will fight each other to find a centre running point in the groves. This gets really hairy when your coming down a mountain pass with switchbacks. I upgrade to a DRW about 18 months ago and wished I had done it a lot sooner. I can't get over the difference an extra set of tires makes. I also drive mine as a Daily Driver and it is fine. You get a bit extra exercise when you go to the mall and it isn't always easy to find somewhere for the Thunder Thigh's to fit.
Hope you enjoy your new rig.

KNPMCM

Gmcman

Just purchased a new cyclone he 3611js should I have any concerns towing it with a sw 2500 gmc duramax ? The dealership said it would be fine with a slider hitch .

avvidclif

X2 Not near enough payload capacity. At 15,305 dry weight and 3485 hitch weight plus any options, think 350 lb generator. Look at the yellow decal on the door post of your truck and find payload (hitch weight). It will probably be in the 2500 lb range. Your truck would be 1000lb+ overloaded just bringing it home from the dealer.

TravelTiger

Founding Texas-West Chapter Leaders-Retired
Just purchased a new cyclone he 3611js should I have any concerns towing it with a sw 2500 gmc duramax ? The dealership said it would be fine with a slider hitch .