No A/C, Lighting, but Outlets Work

Hey everyone,

I have a 2017 Heartland Mallard (27') and experienced my first problems while camping this weekend. At some point in the night, the A/C, lighting, refrigerator, slide out, and awning lost power while plugged into shore; all the outlets and microwave still work. I checked the breakers on the post outside, the breakers in the trailer, as well as the fuses and all work fine. Additionally, the batteries drained even though we were still on shore power. I am new to the camping world, and even newer to electrical issues, but am wondering if its an inverter issue? Any help/feedback would be greatly appreciated!

danemayer

Hi jondavis85,

If you have no interior lights, A/C, refrigerator while plugged into shore power, you don't have output from the Power Converter. The Power Converter changes 120V AC into 12V DC to run those 12V DC devices and to charge the battery.

One of your 120V AC circuit breakers supplies power to the Converter, so flip that breaker OFF and back ON just in case it's tripped. It's also possible the Converter plugged has slipped out of the receptacle where it's normally plugged in. If the battery was recently reconnected, it's possible the on-board blade type fuses on the Power Converter could have been blown by hooking the battery up backwards for a moment. Or the Converter may have just failed.

On larger 5th wheels, the Power Converter is often located behind the rear wall of the pass through basement storage. On travel trailers, it could be in a different location. If your circuit breaker panel and fuse box are close to the exterior wall where the power cord plugs in, the Power Converter could be located behind the circuit breaker panel.

As a workaround, if you are near a Walmart, you can buy a battery charger to connect directly to your trailer battery and charge it up until you can have the Converter checked out.