PDA

View Full Version : "Babies Wrapped in Love" a community outreach opportunity

dieselsweetheart
02-19-2011, 09:32 AM
Hello ladies!

I am asking a favor from all of the Heartland ladies who love to crochet or knit (or both!).
As babies are near and dear to my heart, I would love to add an item to our offering to the community of Goshen/Elkhart. We are collecting food pantry items, but I would also love to offer something to the new moms and babies of the area who maybe do not have a lot of resources...in the form of warmth and comfort... baby blankets, hats, booties. The Indiana winters are harsh as we have all heard this year (and many experienced!)

I know many of us love to crochet just for fun and to keep busy with a project. There are many knitting clubs out there who donate blankets to local hospitals for the new babies and especially for the preemies in the NICU (I am a long time NICU nurse)...so....

Could I ask each of you crafters to donate a homemade blanket..or perhaps a blanket with matching hat and booties if you are talented to do the hat and booties (I can only make blankets).

I don't know how many of you crochet but I bet a good many. Could I set a goal of 50 blankets?

Many thanks! I know each will be made with love. In fact, the name of this project will be "Babies Wrapped in Love."

kkamshop
02-19-2011, 09:52 AM
Cheryl, I was looking for a project to get me back in knitting again. I'd be happy to make a blanket!

dieselsweetheart
02-19-2011, 10:01 AM
Thank you!!! I appreciate it!!

Ray LeTourneau
02-19-2011, 10:50 AM
Lin is in for some stuff. We'll have to start shopping Garage sales & flea markets for good buys on yarn.

DarInMich
02-19-2011, 11:48 AM
Cheryl,