PDA

View Full Version : Problem posting my position on the map



For20hunter
02-10-2016, 03:37 PM
Hey all, I was wondering if anyone else is having problems post their position on a Heartland Owners Position (HOP) map? I have tried using Safari on my Macbook Pro, Google Chrome and IE on my PC and have had no luck. After I add my location and it refreshes, my pin is not listed. I have tried deleting it and re-adding it numerous times on various operating systems and web browsers. What am I doing wrong?

Rod

BigJim45
02-10-2016, 09:26 PM
Rod.....

Try finding your house on the map first then drop your pin on that location
You will need to zoom in close.

For20hunter
02-10-2016, 09:46 PM
I tried that too Jim and still nothing. Or at least I am unable to see myself on the map.

jbeletti
02-11-2016, 12:06 AM
We'll look into this Rod.

Roller4tan
02-11-2016, 10:27 AM
I've found that there are a lot of people in Antarctica and the Pacific Ocean. The longitude and latituse points sometimes reverse themselves during saving(- to + points). Asking the program to find you and then zoming in on the spot to click your location helps me.

For20hunter
02-11-2016, 10:55 AM
How do you have the program find or locate you? I do not see a button or command for that?

Rod


I've found that there are a lot of people in Antarctica and the Pacific Ocean. The longitude and latituse points sometimes reverse themselves during saving(- to + points). Asking the program to find you and then zoming in on the spot to click your location helps me.

danemayer
02-11-2016, 11:34 AM
I'm not sure you have to, but I wait for the 800 or so existing positions to load. You can watch the count at the right.
Then press Add/Edit Your entry

42875


Press on Locate Me! to get close to your current location. Your computer may prompt you for permission.

42876

Click on the + button at the top left corner of the map to zoom in.
Then click on the map to refine your position.

42877


Once the icon is positioned exactly where you want it, press the Update Your Entry button.

42879


If it updates successfully, you should see the following message.

42880

For20hunter
02-11-2016, 01:10 PM
That is exactly what I do to add my location, however once it loads, I am not visible on the map. At least I am not able to see myself.

Rod

I'm not sure you have to, but I wait for the 800 or so existing positions to load. You can watch the count at the right.
Then press Add/Edit Your entry

42875


Press on Locate Me! to get close to your current location. Your computer may prompt you for permission.

42876

Click on the + button at the top left corner of the map to zoom in.
Then click on the map to refine your position.

42877


Once the icon is positioned exactly where you want it, press the Update Your Entry button.

42879


If it updates successfully, you should see the following message.

42880

BigJim45
02-11-2016, 01:46 PM
Your the man.....

The visible MAN....lol

For20hunter
02-11-2016, 01:53 PM
Jim,

So are you able to see me on the map? Because I can't. So I am still the Invisible Man as far as I can tell.

Rod


Your the man.....

The visible MAN....lol

For20hunter
02-11-2016, 02:07 PM
Here is a screen shot after my location was allegedly updated.

42883

As you can see, my pin is not on the map at the location it showed when I was adding it. When I zoom out and get a wider view, it is still not visible anywhere.

Rod

BigJim45
02-11-2016, 03:43 PM
Jim,

So are you able to see me on the map? Because I can't. So I am still the Invisible Man as far as I can tell.

Rod

Rod....

I checked the hole map and you are not seen anywhere.

You are .

jayc
02-11-2016, 05:18 PM
Since this posting, I realized that I haven't updated my map, so I changed my position to my present location but can't see a pin with my name on it. Honesty I've never checked on it before, so it may be normal.

I also checked the Fredericksburg TX area and found no one there. This is where the Sweetheart rally is going on right now. It's possible that no one that is there has updated their position?

danemayer
02-11-2016, 05:19 PM
There do seem to be a lot of owners visiting the Antarctic, including one Regional Director.

danemayer
02-11-2016, 05:34 PM
Found one problem. I click on Locate Me and the Latitude and Longitude are filled in. But if I then click on the map to refine the position, the Latitude and Longitude values get swapped into their correct position. That might be part of the problem.

For20hunter
02-11-2016, 08:09 PM
Maybe something needs to be forwarded up to tech support.

Rod

linuxkidd
02-12-2016, 07:33 AM
Thanks to everyone for your troubleshooting. There is an issue with the lat/long getting swapped. I'll get this glitch corrected today.

In the mean time, if you click on the map to move your pin, you should see the values correctly, and clicking update then should work.

Thanks,
LK

linuxkidd
02-14-2016, 05:49 PM
Sorry for the delay, but should be all fixed now.

Thanks!
LK

jbeletti
02-14-2016, 10:41 PM
It works! Thanks Michael!

Here's a link (https://heartlandowners.org/hop.php) to HOP.

Here's what North America looks like today:
42955

And here's my entry:
42956

For20hunter
02-15-2016, 01:14 AM
Still doesn't seem to list me or show my position on the map.

Rod

danemayer
02-15-2016, 07:40 AM
Still doesn't seem to list me or show my position on the map.

Rod

Rod, did you try editing your position again?

jbeletti
02-15-2016, 08:26 AM
Rod - I agree with Dan here, Delete your entry and readd. I let it Find Me and it was accurate.

For20hunter
02-15-2016, 11:25 AM
I did. I deleted my position. Then added/edited my position. When I hit locate me, it picks that location correctly, but when I add it, no pins show on the map for me.

Rod