PDA

View Full Version : Major Update to Low Clearance Database



SilverRhino
04-27-2016, 12:45 PM
Folks at RvSafetyFirst have just announced a major update to the LowClearane database. ( See Following ) The data is available for Garmin, Microsoft Streets & Trips, Google Earth,TomTom, MapSource, and Rand McNally. You can access all of the formats that you require for your personal use. For a small yearly subscription this data is available for you to download to your GPS. An even better deal is to get a lifetime subscription and then you will receive all the updates. Go to LowClearances.com (http://www.lowclearances.com/amember/go.php?r=668&i=l0) to update or get your subscription. This is by far the best source I have found for low clearances and is very easy to use.


"We are very pleased to announce that we have released a huge upgrade for
the Route-1 low clearance database. The USA data has been vastly improved
with more than 2000 additions taking it to over 7000 locations.

There have also been a significant amount of corrections and deletions
making this latest edition the best it's ever been. The Canada data has
also been updated to now include over 800 locations."



Travel Safe!

Bones
04-28-2016, 07:36 AM
I think I will put this on my list. Thanks

Bigburd
04-29-2016, 05:54 AM
I have more issues with low hanging electric and cable lines over the roadway. Keep taking out cable lines on my street when I come back from trips. Cable company won't move higher.

Bones
04-29-2016, 06:07 AM
I have more issues with low hanging electric and cable lines over the roadway. Keep taking out cable lines on my street when I come back from trips. Cable company won't move higher.
They are suppose to have lines at 14 feet at all times.

GWRam
04-29-2016, 08:05 AM
I've notice on a few streets near our house that the cable hangs too low they have just recently put up no thru truck signs. I'm guessing they think that will keep taller vehicles out. Be nice if they would just put the cables up higher where they were before. No idea why they lowered them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GWRam
04-29-2016, 08:08 AM
Anyone know if there is a way to get this low clearance data base to interface with RAM Uconnect nav system


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JohnD
04-29-2016, 08:23 AM
One nice thing about our area and most of the Denver Metro area is that the phone, power and cable lines are buried.

Bones
04-29-2016, 11:39 AM
I've notice on a few streets near our house that the cable hangs too low they have just recently put up no thru truck signs. I'm guessing they think that will keep taller vehicles out. Be nice if they would just put the cables up higher where they were before. No idea why they lowered them.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
They can put no through trucks but a truck making a delivery may need to go there and they are still responsible for having wires and cables at proper height.

TxCowboy
04-29-2016, 12:12 PM
Here in San Antonio just a couple of weeks ago, one of the local television stations had a news article about overpass clearances on some of our major local roadways and interstate overpasses. They showed several examples where the road ways have been repaved numerous times over several years and that the clearances just are NOT what they should be. One in particular that I remember showed a typical 18 wheeler with box trailer passing under an overpass marked as 15 feet, 3 inches but the top of the truck and trailer was clearing the underpass by only a few inches (think 3 inches!!). The minimum clearance should be much, much more than that!

Thanks for posting about these new updates and, folks, if you do a lot of traveling, buy this software. It's another tool you should have in your trip planning toolbox. :)

windviewer
04-29-2016, 12:35 PM
An acquaintance truck driver in New York state made this comment on a related topic wrt databases of low bridges:

New York marks all its bridges a foot lower than actual. My highest load puts me at 12'6'. I entered that figure in my GPS's vehicle data. So it constantly gives warning about low bridges.Which I ignore. I know the few really low bridges(all rail road) in my AO.

Another acquaintance who moves large equipment around the country says the databases help, but you can't trust them and they have to run the route ahead of time to check it out (and they frequently have to move wires anyway as they pass through)

nscaler2
04-29-2016, 01:23 PM
It's too bad that this won't work with Google Maps, just google earth. We use our phones to navigate with ever since google maps has had the navigation feature. Previously used a Garmin and Low clearances. Their data base is far more extensive than most others. Google maps is far better than anything Garmin has at this time, and it automatically updates for free.

danemayer
04-29-2016, 03:36 PM
An acquaintance truck driver in New York state made this comment on a related topic wrt databases of low bridges:


New York marks all its bridges a foot lower than actual. My highest load puts me at 12'6'. I entered that figure in my GPS's vehicle data. So it constantly gives warning about low bridges.Which I ignore. I know the few really low bridges(all rail road) in my AO.




Another acquaintance who moves large equipment around the country says the databases help, but you can't trust them and they have to run the route ahead of time to check it out (and they frequently have to move wires anyway as they pass through)

Your acquaintance may end up on the news one day.

EdwardHall
05-12-2016, 09:15 AM
I am also looking for either a way to update u connect or for an app for iPad or android, as we will be installing a month for it in the truck when it comes. What is the best app? Hate to have another the on the dash with the others.

Nabo
05-12-2016, 10:30 AM
I also am waiting to update U-Connect which is a Garmin product. Garmin wants to charge $149 to update my current nav system which has to be done yearly at that cost. I hate paying them that yearly. My 2012 Chrysler 300 keeps giving me warning that I'm out of date and I'm suppose to contact my dealer. That's a joke in that my local dealer knows nothing about updating the nav/u-connect system. Guess the story goes back to "sale the vehicle but forget about any service down the road". Our 2014 Ram hasn't starting this warning yet.

Bones
05-12-2016, 10:54 AM
I also am waiting to update U-Connect which is a Garmin product. Garmin wants to charge $149 to update my current nav system which has to be done yearly at that cost. I hate paying them that yearly. My 2012 Chrysler 300 keeps giving me warning that I'm out of date and I'm suppose to contact my dealer. That's a joke in that my local dealer knows nothing about updating the nav/u-connect system. Guess the story goes back to "sale the vehicle but forget about any service down the road". Our 2014 Ram hasn't starting this warning yet.
I have grips about that system that it is in a truck and there is no way to tell it what you are pulling and height restrictions and so on.

Bigburd
05-13-2016, 05:47 AM
They are suppose to have lines at 14 feet at all times.

Electric lines @ 14', Cable lines require to be 2' lower.

TravelTiger
05-14-2016, 10:14 AM
Thanks for the tip on the low clearance database.

I've been fighting with the Rand McNally 5510 software for two days trying to get it updated, my maps updated and the poi's imported. It's like it's stuck in molasses, or it crashes. Gotta love that 2011 technology.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ksucats
06-09-2016, 04:39 PM
Here in Manhappiness Kansas the city says trees and lines must be 12 feet above the roadway. With a coach that is listed at 13.3 I have some problems. Went to city commission meeting years ago and they just said that was the law and they might, if enough people complained, look into it. Oh well.

TravelTiger
06-09-2016, 05:16 PM
Thanks for the tip on the low clearance database.

I've been fighting with the Rand McNally 5510 software for two days trying to get it updated, my maps updated and the poi's imported. It's like it's stuck in molasses, or it crashes. Gotta love that 2011 technology.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A followup to this, when I added ALL the low clearances, thinking it would just show them on the map, I was sadly mistaken. The Rand McNally GPS decided we needed to avoid ALL OF THESE POIs, regardless of the height! So, following the GPS, we took about an hour detour through Oklahoma City residential and retail areas, as well as no-shoulder, winding hilly county roads, with low tree branches and one steep railroad crossing.... all to avoid the 14'3" bridges on I-35! When I finally deleted the ALL LOW CLEARANCES POI database, we were directed back onto the interstate. (I did keep a separate database, low clearances 14' and lower).

busted2341
06-09-2016, 05:43 PM
Love these coversations. We finallly are beginning to trust Sync in our F350. The navigation system has been pretty acurate but it does require EXACT information. My complaint to ford about not being able to program some information to look for as others have said, such as low bridges and what your towing, fell on deaf ears with Ford as well.

avvidclif
06-09-2016, 08:19 PM
I have a question for Erika. Is yours the RV specific GPS. I also have the Rand McNally and can input my height. From what I gathered if I download the low clearance database it will avoid everything in it and ignore my height limitations? Is that correct?

TravelTiger
06-09-2016, 10:25 PM
Clif, we have the RVND 5510, which was the first RV GPS from Rand McNally.

The instructions say there are multiple ways to download the POIs. What I did first was download POIs for 14' and lower.

It also said you could download ALL low clearances as a .zip file, So I thought why not?

Within the GPS, once the files are uploaded, there is a place to indicate the icon these show on the map and how soon you want to be alerted to them, but they must be already programmed to be avoided.

In the "My POIs" area, I designated the icon as a red square for anything in the "All low clearances" database, and a skull&crossbones for the "14' and under" database.

My height set in the GPS for my RV was 12'9" (actually incorrect, we are 13'+ now!) when we discovered the GPS was avoiding a 14' 3" bridge. So honestly, I'm not sure what's going on with how the database of POIs interacts with the actual navigation on this Rand McNally. I just looked again at every menu and there is no place to specify what kind of action to take when encountering a custom POI.

My recommendation is to only upload those low clearances you wish to avoid entirely.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Oh and this wasn't the only crazy bat cr*p this GPS has pulled, so it almost got tossed out the window.

On our way home from Thackerville, OK to Cisco, TX that GPS wanted us to turn due south, even on some questionable county roads, every chance it got. We finally just muted it since we knew the way.

JohnD
06-10-2016, 04:53 AM
I have a Rand McNally 5510 . . . and I paid the $90 extra for the lifetime maps!

While I've found that the GPS will take me on strange roads . . .

If it says 'Bridge too low' . . . it is usually correct!

murry135
06-11-2016, 08:46 AM
Love these coversations. We finallly are beginning to trust Sync in our F350. The navigation system has been pretty acurate but it does require EXACT information. My complaint to ford about not being able to program some information to look for as others have said, such as low bridges and what your towing, fell on deaf ears with Ford as well.

I agree my Ford F350 SYNC does quite well navigating on the "unrestricted" setting. Have Rand McNally and as a backup to the Ford Sync.

Westwind
06-12-2016, 05:41 PM
l have always had a distrust of GPS devices since my first a TomTom tried sending me East instead of West when I was trying to get to the Fair Grounds in West Palm Beach, I was going to a RV Show and the East route would have put me in the Ocean. Fortunately I knew my way. I have determined that I need to carry my paper Rand McNally map book, and at least familiarize myself with the route prior to leaving so I know if the Electronic talking head (GPS) knows what it is doing. Low hanging bridges and overpasses are another matter and it's unbelieveable that we can't get something reliable. But I've come to the conclusion that only the RV'er is concerned, the industry and those safety officials who should be aren't.

JohnD
06-12-2016, 10:30 PM
l have always had a distrust of GPS devices since my first a TomTom tried sending me East instead of West when I was trying to get to the Fair Grounds in West Palm Beach, I was going to a RV Show and the East route would have put me in the Ocean. Fortunately I knew my way. I have determined that I need to carry my paper Rand McNally map book, and at least familiarize myself with the route prior to leaving so I know if the Electronic talking head (GPS) knows what it is doing. Low hanging bridges and overpasses are another matter and it's unbelieveable that we can't get something reliable. But I've come to the conclusion that only the RV'er is concerned, the industry and those safety officials who should be aren't.

I like to think of the GPS unit as a guide . . .

But we also need to use common sense and follow what we see with our own eyes as well.

I am constantly uncomfortable with some of the directions I get from my Rand McNally GPS, but I still use it each and every day.

scotteam1
11-13-2016, 05:48 AM
I am new to fiver towing. I have 2500HD GMC 2016 with on board navigation. Does anyone know if the on board nav can be updated to keep you from low clearance bridges etc?

My biggest fear in towing this fiver.

Skywrench
11-13-2016, 10:39 AM
I went to the lowclearances.com website. It says it is compatable with u-connect. I tried to find the instructions to see how this is possible. Has anyone had success downloading this database to their factory tow vehicle with uconnect? If so, how is this done?

cookie
11-13-2016, 02:28 PM
Has anyone had success downloading this database to their factory tow vehicle with uconnect? If so, how is this done?
I haven't used the Low Clearance data but have loaded other aftermarket programs into my U-Connect.
I suspect it would be the same process. Down load the info to a memory stick and insert it into a USB media port, then follow the on screen instructions.

Peace
Dave

Skywrench
11-14-2016, 10:10 PM
I haven't used the Low Clearance data but have loaded other aftermarket programs into my U-Connect.
I suspect it would be the same process. Down load the info to a memory stick and insert it into a USB media port, then follow the on screen instructions.

Cool deal thanks

Sarge
11-16-2016, 01:45 AM
I haven't used the Low Clearance data but have loaded other aftermarket programs into my U-Connect.
I suspect it would be the same process. Down load the info to a memory stick and insert it into a USB media port, then follow the on screen instructions.

Peace
Dave


Any reviews to pass along for your RAM travelers...?

cookie
11-16-2016, 08:54 AM
Any reviews to pass along for your RAM travelers...?
Like I said, I didn't use a low clearance add on but I did install software for my backup camera.
When I had my GMC and used a camera on the back of the trailer I needed to have a monitor in the cab of the truck.
When I got the RAM I searched for a way to view the camera on the U-Connect radio monitor.
I found Customtronix (http://www.customtronix.com/) and now I have a front cam and trailer backup cam that I can view while traveling and all without an additional monitor in the cab of the truck. Awesome set up.

Peace
Dave

Dennyha
11-16-2016, 01:16 PM
When I got the RAM I searched for a way to view the camera on the U-Connect radio monitor.
I found Customtronix (http://www.customtronix.com/) and now I have a front cam and trailer backup cam that I can view while traveling and all without an additional monitor in the cab of the truck. Awesome set up.

I've been looking at Customtronix to add the cargo cam to my RAM. Did you do the install yourself? If so, was it difficult? I don't think I need the front cam, but would love to add the cargo cam to the Uconnect.

cookie
11-16-2016, 01:32 PM
I've been looking at Customtronix to add the cargo cam to my RAM. Did you do the install yourself? If so, was it difficult? I don't think I need the front cam, but would love to add the cargo cam to the Uconnect.
I did install myself and I intend to add one more cam aimed at my hitch.
You will need to remove a trim strip, the radio and find a switched 12 volt wire. I taped the cigar lighter wire. Then remove the plug on the radio, plug in a harness then plug into the harness. Plug the yellow RCA plug from the cam into the harness and your done.
So the entire process involves running a few wires and hooking them up and turning a couple of screws. It is easy.
I did do a video for You Tube but never got around to posting it. There are several there already so do a search. And I am here for help if needed.
Oh, and the front cam is pretty nice. I didn't think I would really want it but it was only a few dollars more.

Peace
Dave

Dennyha
11-16-2016, 02:09 PM
I watched the videos on YouTube showing the replacement of the brakelght on the back of the cab, and running the wire to the dash. I haven't seen how to get the radio out. I'll look some more.
Were there any issues with swapping the brakelight? I've heard issues of LED versus incandescent.

cookie
11-16-2016, 02:22 PM
I already had the cargo cam so I can't help you there. But I can say that they are pretty good with answering email questions. You might ask them about LED vs incandescent lights. Their replacement brake light might be available either way.
Your brake light is not LED?

Peace
Dave

Dennyha
11-16-2016, 02:34 PM
I'm not sure if my brakelight is LED. I just read on some forums that some experienced problems changing out the brakelight, going from incandescent to LED, so I assumed my OEM brakelight was incandescent.

- - - Updated - - -

And thanks for your help, Dave.

Bones
11-17-2016, 06:15 AM
I clicked on the website and was struck with sticker shock.

Dennyha
11-17-2016, 08:11 AM
I clicked on the website and was struck with sticker shock.

If you think that is bad, add it to your cart and see how much the European VAT tax adds.

cookie
11-17-2016, 08:23 AM
If you think that is bad, add it to your cart and see how much the European VAT tax adds.
There was no VAT on items from Sweden.
And remember that the prices are Euros. So 285 = about $305

Peace
Dave

Dennyha
11-17-2016, 03:37 PM
48588
Something must have changed. As you can see in this screen capture, they charge a VAT tax now.

cookie
11-17-2016, 06:37 PM
Ouch! I guess things did change. That's huge.

Peace
Dave