Recommendations based on this scenario please (water use)

western

I am a total newbie and also asked this question on another RV site. I have a used 3010TT and going to take it on it's "maiden" voyage next week.

Scenario: Place I'm going to, has a spring fed, NON-potable water source (gravity pressure to main faucet head). I have seen many a camper here using this water as a "city source" over the years.

I was considering doing the same thing and am concerned about low outside temps causing freezing. Is it prudent to also have the fresh water side full (inside tank)?? I am assuming that I can use The "city side" for pressure, then if needed , just turn my water pump on to use my Holding tank?? If this is acceptable, do I need to disconnect the "city side" 1st??

I am also concerned of contaminating my tanks after reading some "disinfecting" threads here..

Any tips please?

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
If it's marked as non-potable, then I would not introduce it into the rig. Non-potable means you should not be drinking it without treating it first. The fact that other campers are using it as their city water source may mean they like the taste of Kaopectate.

danemayer

You can fill your fresh tank before getting to your destination and use the pump to meet your water needs. You don't need to hook up to city water in order to use the pump. Just remember that the fresh tank has a limited amount of water. Long showers will use it up quickly. And as others have noted, non-potable water should not be used as city water or to fill the fresh tank. It should not be used for anything except flushing the black tank.

western

Thanks for the reply's!! I had no plans to use it other than for shower, potty and general use, not for consumption, I will carry filtered water this time around for coffee and drinking. Sorry, I should have mentioned that.