bias ply tires on new North Trail

Hi folks-
I'm the proud new owner of a North Trail 21 FBS. I noticed that it is equipped with bias -ply tires. All previous trailers I've had used radial tires. Makes me wonder why why Heartland chose these tires. Better? Cheaper?

Any thoughts?

Thanks

irvin56

Good question

Should post this question in ask the factory thread.
I know reading about a lot of blowouts from china made tires, Maybe they changed to these.

M

Mcreech

I can only repeat what our engineers have told me and that is we will always use a tire that is rated for the weight of our trailer be that a bias or radial.....I'm not a tire expert but i know every tire has limits of what it can handle and Heartland Engineers are very careful about this and make sure not to push the limts of tires......So to answer which is better, I'm not sure but I am sure that the tire we use is rated for the weight of the North trails.........I hope this helps

RVCamper

My new 2009 Northtrail has Bias ply tires "DURO" which is a 9001 certified supplier and has a warranty on case checking. I'm personally glad that they went with Bias Ply as they typically have better anti sway ability, and a tougher side wall. I know that they don't wear as well, but I don't suspect that will be an issue. Still made offshore, but hopefull (fingers crossed knock on wood) these will be ok. As always your mileage may vary. :)

Thanks for the input. Yes , I have read that bias ply tires do have a stiffer sidewall, better for less sway issues. But I've never had any sway toubles with my TV (Super Duty) and a good hitch.

Bias ply tires do run hotter however. Could be a concern when summer traveling. Also have concerns about availability of finding a quick replacement if a tire fails out on the road. Most everyone stocks radials, as they seem to be the standard these days..