Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Extending Main 50amp Line In

  1. Print this Post   #1
    Senior Member Oregon_Camper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA - OR
    Posts
    2,198

    Extending Main 50amp Line In

    I'm planning to add a GoPower IC-2000 (3 devices in 1 --> 2k Inverter, 100amp converter, transfer switch)

    I need to keep this within 10 feet of my battery bank (closer is even better), so I want to install it in the front compartment.

    Problem is, I don't think the main power cord coming in (50amp from shore) is long enough to reach the front compartment.

    Can you splice 50amp (6/4) wire?

    Wanted to get input from the experts here, before I attempt this on my own.

    Thanks everyone!!

  2. Print this Post   #2
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    19,110

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    You get get 6 awg butt splices at Lowes. But they need to be inside a junction box and insulated.


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  3. Print this Post   #3
    Senior Member rahewett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    USA - NC
    Posts
    102

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    You can get these connectors at an electrical supply house. They are already insulated but you should also put them in a junction box.

    Sent from my XT1093 using Tapatalk
    Richard and Cathy Hewett
    2016 F250 cclb
    2015 Heartland Wilderness 2775 rb
    2012 Palomino Gazzel sold

    2016 North Carolina Chapter Rally, Marion, NC
    2017 South Carolina Chapter Rally, Longs, SC

  4. Print this Post   #4
    Senior Member wdk450's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    USA - CA
    Posts
    5,500

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    On my Bighorn the power inlet is on the Off Door side at the rear, the cable then comes up to the utilities crawlspace in the front (behind the cargo bay) where it connects with the transfer switch, then on to the inside circuit breaker panel. Actually, mine also goes through the Progressive EMS box/contactor, before going on to the circuit breaker distribution panel. Maybe the transfer switch point is much closer to where you want to be for your inverter/converter/switch. If your rig came with the generator prep option (I think most did), then you should have that existing transfer switch in the power wiring path, and could substitute your system there. The power converter/charger is also within a few feet of the transfer switch.

    Check out the specs on your converter/charger system checking if the charger is a multi-stage charger. Single stage chargers yield much shorter battery life.
    Bill Knight KJ6TBE
    Retired 40 Year Hospital Biomedical Electronics Technician
    Former State Chairman (2000) California Medical Instrumentation Association (CMIA)
    2008 Bighorn 3670RL
    My Bighorn Upgrades
    See:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing


    2004 Dodge RAM 3500 Cummins 5.9
    B-D Exhaust Brake
    Ride Rite Air Bags
    Valvoline 15-40 High Mileage Diesel Oil
    XDP Diesel Power Plus Fuel Additive

    At a Thousand Trails in Southern California

    21 Heartland Rallies I Have Attended
    See: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1_PRxlhCp1l7IXgiVIBJmCtX3viJ9NaykR8_b81W9CVU/edit?usp=sharing

    Thousand Trails Elite Membership

    Support this Forum! Join the Heartland Owners Club at the "Owners Club" Tab at the top of this Page!!!
    Remember The USS Liberty . . . Read: http://www.lewrockwell.com/orig/margolis12.html
    "The truth sounds like hate to those who hate the truth"

  5. Print this Post   #5
    Senior Member avvidclif's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    USA - TX
    Posts
    2,105

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Might be easier to add a 50A socket at the front of the RV.
    Clif KA5IPF Retired
    Millie W5AUX VFW Auxiliary Past Dept President
    Heartland Member #2831
    2015 Chevrolet 3500HD LTZ Allison/Duramax DRW 32gal RDS Aux Tank
    2015 Cyclone CY3418 Toy Hauler w/Sailun shoes, TST 507, Furrion watching the rear, 12/19 added RVArmor(Flex-Armor) roof.
    2005 HD FXDI Super Glide in the Garage
    Tied together with an Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Connection

    2016 West Texas Inaugural Rally Quanah, Tx
    2019 Louisiana Chapter Rally Natchitoches, LA


  6. Print this Post   #6
    Moderator danemayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA - CO
    Posts
    19,110

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Easiest solution might be an extension cord.


    Dan and Ann Mayer & fur baby Callie the Rally Dog
    2011 Landmark Rushmore
    • MorRyde 8K Independent Suspension
    • 8K Kodiak Disc Brakes
    • RV Comfort Systems Cheap Heat
    • MorRyde 33x90 Sliding Cargo Tray
    • Torklift Glowstep Revolution Aluminum Steps & Dirt Destroyer

    2014 RAM 3500 Laramie
    • Cummins 6.7 Diesel, AISIN Transmission
    • 4x4, Long box, Crew Cab, DRW 3.73
    • Hensley BD3 TrailerSaver Hitch
    • Garmin RV760 GPS


    Is club membership right for you? Click here to learn more

    Check out our Owner-written User Guides and Troubleshooting Guides

  7. Print this Post   #7
    Senior Member esscobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    USA - TX
    Posts
    489

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Quote Originally Posted by Oregon_Camper View Post
    I'm planning to add a GoPower IC-2000 (3 devices in 1 --> 2k Inverter, 100amp converter, transfer switch)

    I need to keep this within 10 feet of my battery bank (closer is even better), so I want to install it in the front compartment.

    Problem is, I don't think the main power cord coming in (50amp from shore) is long enough to reach the front compartment.

    Can you splice 50amp (6/4) wire?

    Wanted to get input from the experts here, before I attempt this on my own.

    Thanks everyone!!

    "Problem is, I don't think the main power cord coming in (50amp from shore) is long enough to reach the front compartment." why would you need to extend your main shoreower? you have the progressive correct? your shorepower should be going to that-so from that you can run cable to inverter and at same time run cable from inverter to your main distribution panel

    Can you splice 50amp (6/4) wire?
    2017 bighorn 3760

  8. Print this Post   #8
    August 29, 2018 porthole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    USA - NJ
    Posts
    10,879

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Quote Originally Posted by esscobra View Post

    Can you splice 50amp (6/4) wire?
    With the proper parts and tools you can splice just about anything.

    We just spiced the service into house yesterday when doing a meter pan replacement.
    Duane & Debbie with Regis & Baylee
    RIP camping buddies Cagney, Misty, my Molly & Gungy
    2011 F-350 DRW

    Rallies & campouts:
    2009
    - 1
    2010
    - 5
    2011
    - 6
    2012 - 7
    2013 - 8
    2014 - 9
    2015 - 8
    2016 - 8
    2017 - 9
    2018 - 8 so far

    Mods
    --- Topic index --- TST TPMS --- SAT TV --- Onan issues --- Hensley TS-3 :-( --- Ramp failure

  9. Print this Post   #9
    Senior Member Oregon_Camper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA - OR
    Posts
    2,198

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Quote Originally Posted by esscobra View Post
    "Problem is, I don't think the main power cord coming in (50amp from shore) is long enough to reach the front compartment." why would you need to extend your main shoreower? you have the progressive correct? your shorepower should be going to that-so from that you can run cable to inverter and at same time run cable from inverter to your main distribution panel
    You are 100% correct in a normal setup...however my OCD kicked in and I wanted to move the EMS to the front compartment to have it next to the IC-2000.

    After much consideration and a lot of measuring distance with some string, I decided to move the IC-2000 to the area behind the pass-through wall. In the end I had to let go of my OCD desire to have everything up front where I could route cables and have it all look great...to having it hidden behind the wall.

    Still working on it today...all wires were ran yesterday and removed existing Go Power! 50amp Transfer Switch as well as the Progressive 80amp Converter. (as well as record and photograph everything for our Blog )

  10. Print this Post   #10
    Senior Member carl.swoyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    USA - FL
    Posts
    1,889

    Re: Extending Main 50amp Line In

    Buy a 50 amp extension cord

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Water line under main door
    By Pioneer in forum Fresh Water Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2016, 02:48 PM
  2. Water line under main door
    By Pioneer in forum Gateway - Ask The Factory
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2016, 02:48 PM
  3. Slide fully extending?
    By CindisRose in forum Big Country - General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-23-2015, 12:49 PM
  4. Slide out gears pop when extending
    By farside291 in forum Slide Rooms, Slide Toppers & Awnings
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-20-2014, 08:08 AM
  5. Extending only one Slide
    By SMAJ in forum Slide Rooms, Slide Toppers & Awnings
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2009, 11:02 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •