2012 29Buds - Installing Directv - Need Advise and Information

LargeFather

Hello. I'm relatively new to owning a TT. I've purchased a 2012 North Trail Calibur 29Buds. We have two TV's in the trailer and i need some advise and information on how to go about the installation.

First, can you help me confirm the hardware i'll need to purchase? I have DirecTV receivers that i'll be using from my house. In addition to that, i'll need to purchase the following:
  1. Dish - i've learned that it has to match what i already have installed at home
  2. Coaxial cable
  3. A dish mounting bracket (tripod)
  4. a satellite finder

What other hardware am i missing?

Secondly, i have a coaxial cable at the rear exterior of the trailer with what looks like a coaxial cable connector which connects the two tv's in the trailer. In the past while staying at an RV resort, i was able to hook up coaxial cable from the trailer to the rv resort and the resort programming was properly displayed on both TV's.... so my question is, once i point the dish to the correct satellite, can i connect the dish to the trailer using the same coaxial connector at the exterior rear of the trailer?

Third, if i have two tv's, will i need two receivers to work the tv's independently from one another?

I appreciate the advice and help. Like i said when i started, i'm new to this trailer rv'ing and i love it. I just have two little princesses that want tv in the bunkhouse when we're out exploring....

Thank you Much!

jimtoo

Hi LargeFather,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

I'm sure some of our members will jump in soon with probably more info than what you want. Got a great bunch of folks here.

Check out and join our owners club.

Enjoy the forum.

Jim M

I am also moving the post to a better area.

NWILSON

Kentucky Chapter Leaders - retired