ATF: Cyclone - ac heat pump also?

earlh20659

I have a question regarding the ac/heat pump. My unit is a 2016 Cyclone 3110.
The ac works pretty well. i read the online user guide but I"m not certain if my unit has just ac , or ac / heat pump. Will my dometic unit function as a heat pump in mildly cool weather, or will the furnace automatically kick in if the temp requested is higher than room temperature? If if does function as a heat pump, how would you use it without having the gas furnace kick in?

maybe dumb questions, but I'm a newbie ....

Thanks very much,

Earl

danemayer

Hi earlh20659,

I believe the heat pump is an option, so if you're not certain whether you purchased the Heat Pump option, you probably have the regular A/C unit. To be certain, you'll either have to test it to see if it produces heat, or you can call Heartland Customer Service at 877-262-8032 / 574-262-8030. Have your VIN # ready. They can tell you what equipment is in your trailer.

The heat pump should work down to around 40 (F) ambient temp. At outside temps lower than that, the thermostat should activate the furnace automatically.

OEFVET

Heartland only puts the heat tape in the garage AC. It works like an electric fireplace. Your thermostat in the garage should have four settings instead of three if you have it.

NWILSON

Kentucky Chapter Leaders - retired
According to AJ during our factory tour Heartland doesn't offer a Heat Pump as an option in the Toy Hauler line, only Heat Tape. The Heat Tape isn't meant to be the only heat source in the RV. It is only about 1500 watts ( the same as a larger blow-dryer) and is only meant to reduce chill on a cold morning (that's Dometic's description).