Damaged tailgate suggestions

fletchco

I am new to the trailer world. Purchased a 2016 Chevy 3500 and a 2005 Bighorn. Had a B & W Patriot slider installed. First day out I released the slider when backing into a tight spot and it rammed into my tailgate. Making it a very difficult first trip out. What is my solution?

danemayer

Hi fletchco,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. I'm sure you'll hear from other owners with sliders shortly.

Moved the thread to the hitch sub-forum.

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...
I am new to the trailer world. Purchased a 2016 Chevy 3500 and a 2005 Bighorn. Had a B & W Patriot slider installed. First day out I released the slider when backing into a tight spot and it rammed into my tailgate. Making it a very difficult first trip out. What is my solution?

The solution is to put the tailgate down when using the slider.

Or take it off.

Gaffer

Don't release the slider unless you need to. 99% of the time you will never turn nearly that sharp while backing.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
WOW...really. Your 3500 is a short bed???? Did the slider come completely off the tracks?? You can't leave the tailgate down or it would punch out the front compartment door when making any type of turn.

On my 1'st 2500 ('05) short bed I had a slider installed. Never needed it 3 years of pulling the Horn. HL's 88* turning really works.....in fact with the short bed (6') bed I could turn over 90* without any problems. I finally removed the slider assembly and sold it for scrap and installed the normal mounts. That begs the question....does your 3500 have a 5 1/2 foot bed or did you just get bad info from someone.

Solution.....call your insurance company and make a claim. Smushed mine (don't ask) and was told about 12-1300.00 $$$ to replace it. OUCH

Last edited:

danemayer

I've seen a 5'er where the tailgate fell open and the rig went around a corner. Left a nasty gash in the trailer.