Grease Seal Replacement

berky

So I'm reading the Lippert instructions for greasing the bearings. They say "Apply a Permatex sealant to the outside of the new seal".

Does anybody do this? Which Permatex do you use?

I've never done bearings before, but I'm not sure I've seen this step in any other instructions. Seems to me unless I use the right stuff it's just going to be a mess to clean up the next time I do the bearings.

jnbhobe

I never use anything when installing seals other than a flat piece of wood and a hammer. I also get a GOOD seal from a bearing shop or a auto parts store.

This is my first post here, I hope this turns out right. I started using Permatex Aviation sealant because it didn't get hard
after time and it came in a brush-top can. I also like Permatex Ultra Blue RTV silicone sealant. Biggist thing is make sure the bore is clean of old sealant/paint, some seals are painted on the outer surface and that is suposed to act as a sealant.

danemayer

Hi Igotinertia,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. There's a lot of useful information here along with a great bunch of friendly and helpful people.

Thanks for contributing to the discussion.

TeJay