sorry but I am new to this: ...80PSI????

I was reading the tag on the side of our 5er and saw that tire pressure should be 80 PSI cold. I checked them and they were at 60 PSI. I added some air up to 72 PSI...........Just wondering if 80 is correct.

Like I said in the header, sorry for all the questions, but this is all pretty new to me
hate to be a PITA

danemayer

Hi totosparents,

If you had actual weight of the rig at each wheel, and all were below your GVWR, you could use the tire manufacturer's inflation/load charts to set the inflation to less than 80psi. But since most people don't have that information, the simpler thing is to inflate the tires to the cold inflation pressure specified on the sidewall of the tire. If you have the original tires that came on your trailer, the tag on the side should match the sidewall info.

That's the long way of saying you should inflate the tires to 80 psi when outside temps are around 70 F, you haven't towed for a few hours, and the sun is not shining directly on the tires.

One other thing. A tire that is under inflated by 20% is considered by tire manufacturers to have been "run flat", which may have caused permanent internal damage to the fibers. The damage can show up unexpectedly in the future. Goodyear suggests having their tires inspected by a Goodyear professional if they have been run 20% under inflated.

60 psi would be more than 20% under inflated. If your trailer was loaded very lightly, with no water, you might be ok. If you were loaded heavy, you might have a problem.

Jim.Allison

Double check the side of the tire and if it says Towmax, replace them and sell them to your landscaper because they will pop.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
X2 on what Jim said. If they are Towmax...get rid of them ASAP. The Goodyear G614 is a great tire (not cheap) but neither is replacing the side of the trailer. Check the inside of the rim to make sure that they are rated for a 110# tire.

Gaffer