Towing Fifth Wheel in the wind?

Pappy

Hi all,
I am sure this questions has been asked before but I did a search and did not find much. I am new to fifthwheel towing. Wind here today was 35 mph with gusts to 50mph. We decided to sit it out for a day. forecast for tomorrow is 20 MPH and am not sure how the 5er will do? It there a limit that some of you have set for towing in wind? Thanks for the info. Trip will be 120 miles. Thanks for the advice...

TravelTiger

Founding Texas-West Chapter Leaders-Retired
We've pulled in some gusty winds in New Mexico and haven't had problems. But if there are NOAA Weather high wind warnings, we stay put.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GOTTOYS

20 mph should be no problem at all. I have a SRW truck and occasionally a gust of 40-50mph rocks it a little but not enough to make me park it. If it's raining and windy like that then I prefer to wait it out. ...Don

SJH

Past Washington Chapter Leaders
We too have encountered some pretty strong winds crossing the Cascades and I was surprised at how stable the rig towed. I don't think I would depart in high winds but I don't believe it is something one needs to worry about encontering along the way unless its severe or becomes uncomfortable. I forget our WA weather is mild compared to some areas of the country but it does get windy here sometimes!

Best Wishes!

RoadJunkie

Of all the stresses associated with towing a larger 5er, I find wind to be at the top of the list; Mileage goes down, anxiety goes up. I don't even like to be in my rig during the rocking and shaking that goes on during a strong wind. Trying to sleep in the rig while all that is going on is a whole different story. I haven't had to hunker down to avoid hauling in a higher wind, but I would not hesitate to do so. The decision of when to do so is more a function of your comfort level as oppose to a specific wind speed.

caissiel