Wintering in a Sundance...

Bighurt

First if this is the wrong thread I apologize, I contemplated the full time forum but seeing as I need to do more than full time I felt modification was a better option.

Little background for those of you unaware, the city of Minot, ND was devastated by a flood of unseen proportions. Our home is a total loss, the family is safe as are much of our possessions. However we still can't return home as there is still 4'+ of water on the property. Ours is one of 4000 homes damaged by the flood and one of 1250 homes that received between 6' and 10' of water on the main floor. We have a single story home. Regardless the city of Minot hasn't a clue what it's going to do, as a contractor I've been inquiring weekly and the only answer I get is we are working on it.

Now it's Jul 8 which for most people means middle of summer, in ND however it means there is less than 90 days until we have snow on the ground. Now as a general contractor I can build a new home, however 90 days isn't a lot of time. Compiled with we haven't done demo yet or gathered appropriate permits to re-build. So I'm stuck figuring out how to keep my family of 5 soon to be 6 warm in the winter in our Sundance 3300RLB. I'm hoping that by mid Aug the city has it's act together.

Now a lot of people are probably saying move, which I would love to do, except for the fact I'm paying for a home that is completely destroyed and will have to do so for the next 22 years...can't sell the foundation and dirt for what I owe.

I can't even buy land to build a new home as you need 50% down on a land only loan and I can't qualify for a construction loan with my outstanding mortgage.

So I'm stuck...

Anybody have advice on modifying and setting my unit up to survive temperatures down to -40 degrees F? Any other advice is also appreciated.

danemayer

Jeremy, sorry you're faced with this situation. Here are some things we learned in Colorado last January. Temps down to -20 and -30 once.