Almost a Major Faux Pas

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
Had a close call yesterday evening. Got home from a long weekend trip and rushed to get the trailer unloaded at the house so we could get it back to the storage yard before dark. As we were finishing up I asked DW, did you get everything finished in the Bedroom. She said yes and for some reason I also mentally included the slide is in also (even though I know that is my task to do/check off). We closed up the trailer, hopped in the truck and took off toward the storage yard. About a quarter mile down the road, I finally looked in the rearview mirror and saw an ugly sight - the bedroom slide was OUT. I quickly pulled to the side of the road, collected my thoughts, and checked for any undesired effects, but everything was fine, disaster averted. Put the slide in and continued on our way. Moral of the story - check, check, and re-check!

Eddhuy

Glad everything was OK. I am still fairly new to 5th wheels and always do a final walk around the trailer before climbing in the truck to take off. Especially since I put a couple holes in the roof of my Prowler, that is still keeping me on my toes.

Flying Dutchman

Virginia Chapter Leaders - Retired
Whew!! Glad all was OK but I am sure it caused some immediate major concern. I would blame it on the "old guy thing" as well.

TravelTiger

Founding Texas-West Chapter Leaders-Retired
Distractions out of the routine can do it, old or not (I'm early 40s). Almost left the LR slide open about 6", because I needed something from an overhead cabinet after the rig was "road ready". Got distracted and almost forgot it was still out!

Another time, after a stop, I forgot to fold in the grab handle. Folded up the stairs, got distracted with the finicky keyless door lock, and walked back to the truck... Luckily we noticed it before getting onto the road!

Never fails when trying to leave a Rally, all want to give well wishes or ask about the coach or truck.