PDA

View Full Version : Indoor/outdoor thermometer question



Diamondjim
05-05-2016, 01:55 PM
Being lazy.....I miss my indoor/outdoor thermometer that we have at home.
I purchased a similar unit for our 5th wheel, where do you folks place your outdoor sensor? I know they recommend on a Northern location - like that might ever happen.
Ideas welcome.:D

travelin2
05-05-2016, 02:06 PM
Mine hangs here 24/7/365...doorside. Been there for 30K miles so far!!
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160505/f22c44e41b7695fed06cf6d642bd8f0d.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kenwessels1451
05-05-2016, 02:08 PM
We hang ours on the pinbox near where the pigtail junction box is.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

rxbristol
05-05-2016, 02:08 PM
I place mine on top of a tire that faces east. No sun reaches that area.

boatto5er
05-05-2016, 02:11 PM
I lay mine on the frame, out of the sun.

RAHanock
05-05-2016, 02:13 PM
We use a small suction cup to hang it from an outside window.

GWRam
05-05-2016, 02:32 PM
We put velcro on the back of the temp sensor and stick it in the pinbox. Its out of the wx, and always in the shade.
When we travel we put it with all the tv/blueray remotes. The one time we forgot to store the sensor it traveled home safely
in the pinbox.

farside291
05-05-2016, 02:44 PM
We attach ours to a hydraulic line with a zip tie in the propane tank area.

DougS
05-05-2016, 03:33 PM
We hang our sensor under the pin box in the shade. When we travel we put sensor in the refrig and the display in the truck so we can monitor the temperature as we travel.

Diamondjim
05-05-2016, 05:57 PM
Great responses, thanks to all.

DougS - how cool is that idea..........no pun intended, but a great idea! Do you leave your frig running while on the road? (on propane?)

Westwind
05-05-2016, 06:32 PM
Bought one at Home Depot for about $15 and I bought Velcro for the sending unit, I attach it to a Velcro strip inside of the propane compartment and the unit works well next to my recliner, I've forgotten to take the unit out of the propane compartment and it has traveled 1400 miles at least twice. I've now put Velcro in the UDC and attach it there
when traveling.

cookie
05-05-2016, 06:58 PM
I keep one somewhere along I-55 in IL, one somewhere on I-90 in MN and one on TX state highway 281.
I now keep one attached to the pin box.
Wherever you keep it make sure it's secure or at least don't forget about it when you hit the road.

Peace
Dave

billyjoeraybob
05-05-2016, 08:02 PM
top of tire under slide out of sun. Has a length of hunter orange tree marking tape that hangs down by the wheel chocks as a reminder

JohnDar
05-05-2016, 08:15 PM
I put velcro on the sensor and on the wall under the overhang. During the winter, I bring it home and put the sensor in my garage. We have another permanently set up in the house.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wdk450
05-05-2016, 09:44 PM
I hang my outdoor sensor with velcro just above the front compartment door. It is in the shade and pretty much blocked form wind. I use the outside thermometer reading when deciding to run the Fantastic vent fans.

So far the velcro hasn't failed, but the velcro adhesive has failed. Luckily it was while I was parked during a stay. I upgraded the velcro adhesive to Gorilla Super Glue.

Manzan
05-05-2016, 09:59 PM
The base unit sits on the counter. One sensor fits on a bracket that hangs on the tire nearest the door. One in the freezer and one in the refrigerator proper. At home, each has its own place in and around the house. It would be very hard to forget the one on the tire and the others don't matter.

rxbristol
05-06-2016, 09:14 PM
I keep one somewhere along I-55 in IL, one somewhere on I-90 in MN and one on TX state highway 281.
I now keep one attached to the pin box.
Wherever you keep it make sure it's secure or at least don't forget about it when you hit the road.

Peace
Dave

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D. The one on Hwy 281 is readying 76 degrees.

mlpeloquin
05-06-2016, 09:28 PM
Had one one the tire every time we stopped. That one stopped working after the crush test failed. Our new one is put on the small slide window with industrial strength Velcro. I just leave it there.

JohnD
05-07-2016, 08:40 AM
I put ours on the inside lip of whichever slide out is opposite the sun and is in a spot where I see it whenever I put the rear jacks up.

Diamondjim
05-07-2016, 10:17 AM
Loved several ideas, but went with the pinbox location-thanks to y'all.
Will try to attach picture.

Sent from my LGL41C using Tapatalk

Diamondjim
05-07-2016, 10:19 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160507/3cd2bde418e667bc24956da1bb7986f6.jpg

This may do it. ??????

Sent from my LGL41C using Tapatalk

JohnD
05-07-2016, 02:53 PM
I tried putting mine inside of the pin box, but I found that it was reading 15-20 degrees higher (in the summer months) as the metal pin box got hotter inside than the outside temps.

rhodies1
05-07-2016, 03:27 PM
We installed ours under the steps using Velcro,monitor is attached inside of control panel door,don't have to worry about now, used to forget it when leaving and find the monitor on the floor

NHCelt
05-07-2016, 04:04 PM
Ours is velcroed to the inside of the slideout skirt. We leave it there and it is placed do it doesn't get squished when the slide comes in and is safely out of harms way.

Sent from my XT1096 using Tapatalk

simsfmly
05-08-2016, 05:54 AM
I used twine to tie mine off the waste water flusher (have an elbow going in) in the UDC. Gave it enough to let it hang out through the opening for the hoses and satellite cable. Keeps it shaded, a few feet above ground, and is a part of set up/tear down just rides in the UDC when traveling.

Carleen
06-23-2016, 11:18 AM
We hang our sensor under the pin box in the shade. When we travel we put sensor in the refrig and the display in the truck so we can monitor the temperature as we travel.

I think that is the best idea I have ever seen! THANKS!!! :o

wdk450
06-23-2016, 03:18 PM
We hang our sensor under the pin box in the shade. When we travel we put sensor in the refrig and the display in the truck so we can monitor the temperature as we travel.

Having had my refrigerator quit working in 100 degree heat due to the 12 volt fuse intermittently blowing enroute from Oregon to Sacramento, I LOVE your idea about using the system to monitor the refrigerator temperature enroute.

I just took my brother to Walmart to buy a wireless outdoor/indoor thermometer for his Riverside, Ca. house. The most economical model is now just about $9.

Lynn1130
06-23-2016, 06:34 PM
I have two sets of these. One set is on the second fridge (my beer and pop fridge) in the house since it is an older unit without the built in and the other is on the RV fridg/Freezer. They both work great.

https://www.amazon.com/AcuRite-Refrigerator-Freezer-Wireless-Thermometer/dp/B004QJVU78/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466724570&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=fridg+temp+monitor

I hang the inside/outside wx/temp gauge off of the pin box in the shade and away from the skin of the trailer to get more accurate reads. The best place is on a pine tree away from the trailer since there is going to be some heat or cold coming off of the RV depending upon the weather. When I pack up to leave the inside unit reminds me to go get the outside unit.

JohnDar
06-24-2016, 07:30 PM
Unfortunately, it looks like the Indoor/Outdoor thermometer we've been using for the past few years has given up the ghost. At least the outdoor sensor/sender is. Tried new batteries and placing the units together, but no joy. All I get for outdoor is a dashed line. Looks like another trip to WallyWorld.

jmgratz
06-24-2016, 07:44 PM
Unfortunately, it looks like the Indoor/Outdoor thermometer we've been using for the past few years has given up the ghost. At least the outdoor sensor/sender is. Tried new batteries and placing the units together, but no joy. All I get for outdoor is a dashed line. Looks like another trip to WallyWorld.


You may be able to order the outdoor unit only. I did

JohnDar
06-24-2016, 08:25 PM
You may be able to order the outdoor unit only. I did

A great big DUH!! Looking on the back for a website, I see the battery install instructions (again!). First put batteries in the transmitter, then the receiver, then WAIT until the outside temp is displayed BEFORE entering the time and date. It's working again.

Who says men don't read instructions. We just don't read them soon enough. :rolleyes: