New Transporter Truck

pmmjarrett

Not just tired..... RETIRED!!!
As many of you know I'm a professional RV transporter. Speaking with Jim the other day I mentioned I was doing this and he asked if I'd share the build here.

A little about my background... Besides serving in the military and driving truck I have been a shipfitter, bodyman, welder and mechanic, both cars and heavy trucks. I have the skills and tools needed to do this work nearly completely by myself.

I have decided to step things up a notch and build a "Tow & Haul" transporter truck to be able to transport 2 - 3 trailers at a time and have the flexibility to load cars, boats and whatever else I can winch onto the bed or tow behind it.

This allows me to be more competitve in the transport industry operate at a reduced rate for smaller units, provide a premium service to our customers like Heartland and their dealers and remain profitable during slow times which will be very important over the next few years until the economy recovers.

I have chosen I truck that is inexpensive to maintain, easy to get parts for and was cheap enough to have it paid for before even leaving my yard so I have very little overhead during slow times that allows me to simply park it if there is no freight.

It's a 1998 Ford F-800 regular cab I picked up today. Found it on Craigslist. Truck market is on its 4th point of contact so if you are looking to step into a nice used medium duty for towing that Cyclone or Landmark it may do you good to shop around now.

Specs:
  • 1998 Ford F-800 cab & chassis
  • 184,000 miles
  • 5.9 Cummins P-pump 12 valve
  • Allison 540 series 4 speed automatic
  • 19.5" tires
  • 3.54 gear ratio
  • 26,000 GWV
  • 7k steer axle
  • 19k rear axle
  • Power windows
  • AC - and it's ice cold too!!!!!
  • Hydroboost hydraulic brakes