1st Recaulk of Roof

'Lil Guy'

Due to the fact that a unit sits out on the dealer's lot for periods of time, how long should you wait to check out the caulking on your roof. I know to do preventive maintenance and not wait for it to start leaking but is there a rule of thumb for this. I keep my unit stored under cover and have only had it out twice. You think it's time for an inspection?
Also, wouldn't it be better to remove the old stuff and just redo it with new caulk instead of just letting it build up with multiple layers?
Seems that everything I've seen and read is to just inspect and patch the cracks you find. I think if it doesn't show any cracks, I'll just wipe it with 303 for the UV protection. Think this would help prolong the caulking?
Thanks in advance

Garypowell

I am no expert but I would inspect it as soon as possible. One little spot missed at the manufacturing phase can lead to quick deterioration. I have not ever found a problem in my 5 rigs but if you are one of the few unlucky ones you'll kick yourself for not doing it.

brianharrison

As Gary mentioned, easy to visually inspect (send the kids up to look if you're shaky on the roof). I look every time I am up on my roof. Look for cracks in the caulking (aged and shrinking), or areas missed in original installation (shortage of caulk, or edges coming up because of poor installation).

As with Gary, I have not found problems in my coaches until the 4-5 year mark. Others may be different depending on ambient conditions - sun is harsher, and lots of temperature fluctuations cause concerns with caulking. As well, washing the roof twice a year, and cleaning the surface of the caulking as a result, helps preserve its life.

If yours in undercover, you should be fine until the 4-5 year mark - I hear others use 303, so I assume it does not have petroleum solvents as an ingredient (bad for EPDM, and caulking) and should be fine. I cannot comment on its ability to protect caulking.