5th Wheel Hitches - Looking for a better ride

dave2348

We have a 2012 2950rk Big Country which we are enjoying very much!!! I have a 16k Curt 5th Wheel Hitch that doesn't clamp totally around ( It just has the bar that goes straight across) that causes some chuking sometimes as we are driving. We want to go out of state and I would like a smoother ride. I have a 2011 Chevy Dually that I pull it with, are there any ideas on better hitches or something that I could do with what I have.

Thanks Dave from California

Dave49

Re: 5th Wheel Hitches

Take a very serious look into the All American Hitch that was developed by Mobil Outfitters. This hitch is technology at its best and maintenece free. The real trick to this is the new air cell as they call it that micro manages the bumps in the road. I'm by no means an expert on these as far as how they work, but I will say they work like a dream, and best of all, its All American Made!!

Dave

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator

Dave from CA, I had that same hitch and you're right, the design leaves some room for movement in the pin area. Because you have a Curt hitch already, you have several options depending on how much you want to spend. For a minimal investment just step up in the Reese Pro or Signature line or Curt also has similar hitches. It all depends on your spending limit. $ or $$$$$ :D

scottyb

I have been very pleased with the two B&W Companions I have had. 1st one was in a 2007+ Chevy. Current one is the OEM replacement for my Ford factory prep. They allow you to remove them and have a clean bed w/o rails, plus have a gooseneck hitch when needed. They also have unique locking jaw system. Too bad you have a 2011 Chevy instead of a 2007 - 2010. I have the flipover ball gooseneck hitch for those years that goes with the Companion, that I would sell cheap.

noobee