Awning issues

jimcham

I am new to RV'ing and purchased a 2015 Prowler 28p bhs last fall. I noticed that the awning was not flush at the top when I rolled it up, it seemed that the awning was too thick when rolled up to allow the top to latch flush against the bar. However, it would latch at the bottom so I thought it was designed that way.

I took it out several times and did not notice any issues. Today I was taking the TT to the dealer to have a couple of warranty items fixed (minor) and on the way the wind blew my awning off. It somehow blew the top of the awning which, in turn, blew it down and broke off the bottom part. The wind was extreme, it had to have been 50+ mph. I wondered if this issue was related to the awning not being flush at the top or if it was truly 100% wind related. Are awnings supposed to be perpendicular to the bar when it is fully retracted, or is it only supposed to latch flush at the bottom?

Is it possible they put an awning that was too thick at the top to properly latch? I have noticed a couple of other minor issues (the sewer exhaust had a screw going through the side of it, the nut for the light fixture was the wrong size and would not stay on, and there were damaged shades on one of the windows.)

Any information is greatly appreciated.

danemayer

Hi jimcham,

Sorry to hear about your awning. I'm sure you'll get some comments shortly on how manual awnings normally roll up and latch.

JohnDar

Prolifically Gabby Member
Been a while, but on our former TT, the manual awning had a latch on the forward end that locked it in the retracted position. You had to pull it down with the awning rod in order to deploy it. Likewise to roll it up, you had to move that lever to release it (and hang onto the awning strap).

whp4262