Brakes adjustment after bearing repack

Miltp920

So, first off, I am fairly new to electric brakes and towing a 15,500 lb 5er. I had a shop repack my bearings a month ago. They inspected my brakes and said everything looked really good, just a little dust which they cleaned up. Before I took it to the shop, and since I got it new, when I hit the brakes, if my electric brake controller was set on 4-5 or higher, the stop was very jerky because the electric brakes seem to really grab. I usually ran with a setting of 6.5, I never would have thought I needed a setting of 10. I thought this was normal. I got to where I would turn the brake controller down to 2 or 2.5 at every stoplight just to stop the jerky stop. Now, since the axle-bearing work, the camper does not seem to have the same stopping power. I am keeping the brake controller set on 10, all the time and the stops are smooth. I am wondering if what I have now is what it should have been all along, or should I be experiencing the same stopping power I had before this maintenance. I feel like I or the shop I went to should adjust the brakes a couple of clicks to get to where it feels like the electric brakes are doing more of the stopping. I do not want to rely on my TV brakes to stop the entire rig. I think I remember reading that if you are rolling at about 10-15 mph, and you engage just the electric brakes with the slide button and NOT the TV pedal, and the 5er actually stops the entire rig in short order. Is that is how you judge if the brakes are set right? Does anyone else deal with jerky stops at every stop light? I learned to "feather" the pedal pressure, but it was rarely smooth like it is now.

branson4020

Icantre Member
I turn mine up until the trailer brakes alone will lock-up the wheels at 20 mph, then back it down a few tenths of a volt.

bighorn3370