Diesel Trucks and Cold Weather

jdfishing

I'm new to towing with a diesel engine, especially in cold weather. We are heading up through northern CA, into Oregon and Wash. In some locations, the temps are dropping into the mid to lower 20's. Is there a need to be concerned about the diesel in the factory fuel tank "jelling"? The owners manual only addresses long term exposure to very cold weather. I believe some locations put an additive in the fuel, but I doubt they do where I live.

BLHFUN

Are you traveling through and the nights are dropping into the mid twenties? Or moving long term to 20s for a high over weeks/months at a time? Nights dropping into the twenties are nothing to worry about. Specifically if your driving daily and using the fuel. I think your manual calls it correctly. "Long term exposure" and I'll add "without use"

i wouldnt add a thing to my fuel if a few nights dropped into the 20's. No concern.

JanAndBill

Untreated diesel fuel wil start to gel at around 15 degrees F. Unless you have a means of warming the fuel in the tank it can actually gel in the tank running down the road as the temperature drops further. Most fuel stops in the north have already switched to a winter blend that contains an additive that will give you some protection. Even then we had problems on trucks without tank heaters as the temperatures dropped below 0.

Duramax1

You will find that the diesel fuel stops in winter areas will adjust their blends to match the weather conditions.

GOTTOYS

In MN and I'm sure other States, the #2 fuel we get in the Summer is blended with #1 for Winter use. The amount of #1 varies according to what month it is. At its worst it is blended to work at 30 below zero. The more #1 they put in the worse our fuel mileage gets. It will drop off by as much as 30% or so during our coldest months....Don

BBslider001