Electrical 120v Safety Please

Mattman

Hello Guys and Gals,

There is lots of good talk on here about towing safety. But I just want to touch on a few things about electrical safety, and practice. I have been an Electrician for the last 16 years. Not going to say I know it all, or seen every thing, and campers are slightly different than buildings. But not much. So as I have read through some of these electrical forums I just want to bring up a few things.

1. Please do not work on Hot circuits. Just because its a 120v or 240 does not mean its not dangerous. There are more deaths on 120 than higher voltages every year.
DO you know about arc flash? There is a huge potential if you take the cover off you 240V panel and it is energized. If your at a campground plugged into a circuit breaker it may not be operating correctly to clear a fault quickly. These breakers are turned ON and Off lots. Breakers are not designed to switch loads on a regular bases creating wear and tear. They only get replaced when they don't operate. You can not guarantee they will trip with in there original manufactured set requirements. A phase to phase arc flash on 240V can still go a few cycles and produce huge amounts of heat expelling melted metal from your panel or tool that cause the flash.
2. Use a good meter. Not the $10 special from the hardware store. Look at the rating on the back. Preferably with some kind of internal fuse protection.
3. Aluminum conductors. Some campers may have Aluminum conductors from the feed plug to the breaker panel. Aluminum is soft and expands and contracts more than copper. Never over tighten Aluminum. If its to tight, when the conductor heats up it expands. If it expands it will break strands. If it breaks strands it increases the resistance with increases the amperage. If this is your Neutral conductor on a 240 panel. It can burn it up while not tripping the breaker.