Heartland 3596RE advice

Hi folks! Brand newbie here. Hopefully in a week or so (+/-), my wife and I are going to pull the trigger on a newly used 2013, 3596RE 5'er. She fell in love almost immediately with the unit and we have been back to look at it, together, a second time. ( I have actually looked at it 3 times). The salesman's story was that the couple had purchased it new, some place else, and then decided they wanted a Class A unit instead and traded the 5'er in on a Class A there.

This rig's only blemishes are that the mattress is stained, which we would replace anyway regardless, and the coroblast lining underneath needs to be resealed in several areas. Other than that, it looks brand spanking new.

We haven't gotten the dealer to actually demonstrate the unit's functionality yet, but my question is, and I hope this is not out of line with the forum's standards, are there any particular problems of special concern that we should be aware of and look for in this particular unit? I can not remember which brand of refrigerator that it has in it, as far as the reputed fire/recall situation goes. If it has a Norcold in it, should I use that as a bartering tool!?

After looking for years at campers, I never found anything that has excited me like the Heartland line does. Thank you in advance for any help!!

Jim

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Hello Jim and welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully a Heartland owner.
I guess that when looking at a used rig there will be several things anyone would want to look at.

Tires seem to be an important item. If there are Towmax tires on it I would recommend new tires. They do not have a good track record.
Inflation is very important. Inflate to max pressure indicated on the sidewall. It might be a good idea to take a tire gauge along and see what kind of pressure is in them right now. If they are under inflated the previous owner may have shortened their life no matter what brand is on it.