Is there a right time to buy?

Hi newbie here, after spending hours reading through threads, I wondered if there is a right time to but an RV?

Do the models run on the calendar year or do they end on the fiscal year like most autos.

I guess what I'm getting at is...when do the 2015's come out and when they do, would there then be a backlog of 2014's on RV lots at deeply discounted prices?

I've always heard that in the auto industry you should buy at the end of the month and toward the end of the model year for the best values. Is this true in RV's as well?

Thanks in advance for your input. I am a couple years out (hopefully less) from buying my fifth wheel so any and all information helps at this point.

If this question has been asked and answered elsewhere, please provide link to thread if you can.

Thank you.

jimtoo

Hi EchoLima88,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and hopefully to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

The 2015's are being released or have been released already. And yes, you can find some good deals on the 2014's. Don't know why the end of the month would be any better unless it's because the dealer has a sales contest going.

Just do your shopping and join us at a rally or campground and make lots of great memories.

Jim M

GOTTOYS

The dealers that try to charge way too much will discount them when the new models come out. The "wholesale" dealers don't discount them so much as they sell at a better price to start with. If you shop and do a little wheelin and dealin, you can usually get 30-40% off their price just about anytime of the year. They can only come down so low before they lose money even on last years models..Don

Bohemian

The dealer will size you up. They are very good at that.